RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Kenwood & EF Johnson Forum


Kenwood & EF Johnson Forum - For discussion of land mobile radio products manufactured by Kenwood or EF Johnson. For discussion of Kenwood Amateur Radio Equipment, please use the Amateur Radio Equipment forum.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2017, 8:48 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,033
Default NX-5000 / NX-3000 Software and Firmware update - 12-01-17

JVCKENWOOD announces the release of the NEXEDGE NX-3000 Series Firmware Version 1.20 and related Software KPG-D3N R1.20.
This firmware release includes the new DMR feature, DMR Auto Slot Select and KPG-D3N Personality Table improvement.

JVCKENWOOD announces the release of the NEXEDGE® NX-5000 Series Firmware Version 2.40 and
related Software KPG-D1NK R2.40.
This firmware release includes the new DMR feature, DMR Auto Slot Select.

Contact your local dealer / sales rep. for more information please.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2017, 8:52 PM
MSS-Dave's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Generally Central Florida
Posts: 305
Default

Please oh please tell me import got fixed. Guess I'll have to update and see......

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2017, 8:54 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,033
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSS-Dave View Post
Please oh please tell me import got fixed. Guess I'll have to update and see......

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
LOL, takes forever for the server to respond, but I am downloading the files now Dave.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2017, 9:15 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,033
Default

The “DMR Auto Slot Select” function in the NX-5000 V2.4 and NX-3000 V1.2 allows the subscriber
unit (SU) to automatically switch when used with a DMR repeater. This functionality allows for
efficient slot usage without the user to having to change channels to use a different slot on said
repeater. The same Color Code (CC) must be applied to both Slot #1 and Slot #2.

NOTE: DMR Auto Slot Select functions in repeater mode only. DMR Auto Slot Select cannot be
programed on a channel configured for Direct mode operation. In the case of the use of the talk
around function the channel with the Auto Slot Select programming, the SU is fixed on Slot #1.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-03-2017, 10:40 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: South Africa
Posts: 98
Default

I wonder if this "auto slot select" will be available in the lower tier TK-D240 in the future?

I presume it's the same as hytera pseudo trunk.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-03-2017, 4:28 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: California
Posts: 191
Default

How will this work on poorly configured systems that use two timeslots as individual groups but with the same talkgroup id? I doubt it will handle it well.

I've ran into a ton of those systems--it's extremely infuriating.
__________________
WQYN885 WQWX696 W6JBH
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2017, 12:06 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,033
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KK6ZTE View Post
How will this work on poorly configured systems that use two timeslots as individual groups but with the same talkgroup id? I doubt it will handle it well.

I've ran into a ton of those systems--it's extremely infuriating.
I hear you, but that would be a radio shop key to getting a new service customer and make it correct. Just saying. But you can do it the same way now on a Kenwood, if that's what it took.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2017, 12:08 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,033
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAFFA View Post
I wonder if this "auto slot select" will be available in the lower tier TK-D240 in the future?

I presume it's the same as hytera pseudo trunk.
I do not see it updated on 166 or 170. So for now, no, but don't hold me to it. Just has not been released.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2017, 12:45 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hartford Area, CT
Posts: 53
Default

Will the software u/d be free or something that requires an upgrade fee?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2017, 5:55 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,033
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bondo_06092 View Post
Will the software u/d be free or something that requires an upgrade fee?
Check with your sales rep or dealer.


Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2018, 7:43 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Central Valley California
Posts: 733
Default

After updating to 2.40 on my 5700 I have noticed the clock no longer keeps time. I can write to the radio and it corrects the time but as soon as the radio cycles power the time is either blank or incorrect.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2018, 7:47 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,033
Default

Can you video it doing that?
I'm working on another bug report.



Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2018, 7:53 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Central Valley California
Posts: 733
Default

Yes can I email it to you? Also not sure if you read my other post in a different thread about the MDC ID’s being cleared from the screen as soon as a new signal is received regardless of how long I set the timer for. This seems to be a bug that has been common in all firmware releases.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2018, 7:56 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,033
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colton25 View Post
Yes can I email it to you? Also not sure if you read my other post in a different thread about the MDC ID’s being cleared from the screen as soon as a new signal is received regardless of how long I set the timer for. This seems to be a bug that has been common in all firmware releases.
Not really a bug if you are in scan. I asked about it. They suggested having call ID stack turned on if you need to go look at who it was.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2018, 7:59 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Central Valley California
Posts: 733
Default

Ok disregard then, just new to me. My X180 radios would always display the ID with scan being on or off.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kd4efm View Post
Not really a bug if you are in scan. I asked about it. They suggested having call ID stack turned on if you need to go look at who it was.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2018, 2:02 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Middletown, Connecticut
Posts: 114
Default

Any new firmware out yet?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2018, 2:55 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,033
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ndejohn View Post
Any new firmware out yet?
Nope

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions