RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Kenwood & EF Johnson Forum


Kenwood & EF Johnson Forum - For discussion of land mobile radio products manufactured by Kenwood or EF Johnson. For discussion of Kenwood Amateur Radio Equipment, please use the Amateur Radio Equipment forum.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2018, 4:03 PM
Was emtfirebug14
   
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 80
Default Tk2180 emergency button

Hey yall trying to program my emergency button but can't remember how to do it. Anyone program this before that can help me out
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2018, 4:09 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Default

Key assignment list

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2018, 4:09 PM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: WTVLCA01DS0
Posts: 9,452
Default

I've programmed them, what sort of issues are you experiencing?

Also, the button can be programmed to do a number of functions, "Emergency" is just one of them. Even under the emergency tab, there are a lot of options.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2018, 7:46 PM
Was emtfirebug14
   
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 80
Default

I am looking to basically set it as an emergency tone in case I'm in a situation where I may not be able to physically key up on radio. I would like to be able to just push a button and the personality channel remains open for a set duration where audio can be heard
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2018, 11:18 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: calgary
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by njffemt08 View Post
Hey yall trying to program my emergency button but can't remember how to do it. Anyone program this before that can help me out
you need to set up in AUX key select EMERGENCY, then used the fleetsync for it. then set in in emergency information your duration, in my option i set up the emergency cycles by number not infinite also set the emergency mode to audible you can set up also the text.

if you are using 2180 you can set up also caller ID for it so that you know whos key up and asking for emergency.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2018, 12:30 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Land of entrapment
Posts: 74
Default

The 2180 has mdc signaling also
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2018, 1:00 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: calgary
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by William2910 View Post
The 2180 has mdc signaling also
tk2180 no MDC-1200 but you are trying for emergency set up used fleetsync is easy to used and easy to set up.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2018, 1:03 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Land of entrapment
Posts: 74
Default

Really? Mine has mdc 1200, I guess it's the option board or firmware unless it's fleetsync and they just called it mdc1200
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2018, 1:22 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: calgary
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by William2910 View Post
Really? Mine has mdc 1200, I guess it's the option board or firmware unless it's fleetsync and they just called it mdc1200
oh im here in canada maybe US version has, but if you used have emergency set up, i rather use the fleetsyn more option than MDC
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2018, 1:23 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Land of entrapment
Posts: 74
Default

Probably the different model of the 2180. Fleetsync is nice though.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2018, 1:25 PM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: WTVLCA01DS0
Posts: 9,452
Default

MDC1200 on the TK-x180 line is a firmware upgrade for most radios.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2018, 1:26 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Land of entrapment
Posts: 74
Default

What I was thinking I only seen the mdc firmware variety
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2018, 1:37 PM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: WTVLCA01DS0
Posts: 9,452
Default

Latest (Nov 2012):
Radio Firmware 1.22
KPG-89 v1.61.

I'm using a TK-3180 and have MDC-1200 on it.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2018, 1:45 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: calgary
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmckenna View Post
MDC1200 on the TK-x180 line is a firmware upgrade for most radios.
correct me if im wrong, but im using KPG-89D for x180 even i upgrade the firmware for the radio if your software dont have MDC-1200 you can't set up also the radio. im using MDC is just plain and simple caller ID but more than that i used fleetsync.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2018, 2:53 PM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: WTVLCA01DS0
Posts: 9,452
Default

You'd need to upgrade both the KPG-89 and the radio firmware to access the MDC-1200 functions.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2018, 3:08 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: calgary
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmckenna View Post
You'd need to upgrade both the KPG-89 and the radio firmware to access the MDC-1200 functions.
sorry i been mix up, i ddnt notice that you need to select between Fleet or MDC if you select in the model portion and signalling. is been long time i never program the x180 anyway, the topic before is about emergency, i just focused for it, like i said is more option in fleetsyn than MDC,

i open topic about emergency for shutdown, but im using KAP 2 for accessories relay inside the RADIO
but i wan to know more about accessories output in the radio. with out using KAP 2, maybe theres a programming that can activate the accessories at the back of the radio.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2018, 3:48 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In the 'patch
Posts: 5,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielxgame View Post
sorry i been mix up, i ddnt notice that you need to select between Fleet or MDC if you select in the model portion and signalling. is been long time i never program the x180 anyway, the topic before is about emergency, i just focused for it, like i said is more option in fleetsyn than MDC.


While not the TK-x180 series, I have a NX-700 and NX-200 and the NX-x00 series you select MDC-1200 or FleetSyc signalling per zone. You can have one zone MDC1200 and another zone Fleetsyc.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Interoperatablity is not a technology, it is an attitude!!!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2018, 4:40 PM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: WTVLCA01DS0
Posts: 9,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielxgame View Post
sorry i been mix up, i ddnt notice that you need to select between Fleet or MDC if you select in the model portion and signalling. is been long time i never program the x180 anyway, the topic before is about emergency, i just focused for it, like i said is more option in fleetsyn than MDC,

i open topic about emergency for shutdown, but im using KAP 2 for accessories relay inside the RADIO
but i wan to know more about accessories output in the radio. with out using KAP 2, maybe theres a programming that can activate the accessories at the back of the radio.
Not much you can do with MDC1200 on these. As you said, FleetSync has more capabilities.

"Extended Function" "AUX" tab would be a place to look at output and input options for the rear connector.


Also,
You'd need to go under the "Model" tab for the radio and select MDC1200 or FleetSync for the specific radio. The radio will only do one or the other, not both at the same time.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2018, 4:46 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Land of entrapment
Posts: 74
Default

So he is better off using fleetsync over the mdc on the 2180 with emergency and stun and such?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2018, 6:07 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: calgary
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by William2910 View Post
So he is better off using fleetsync over the mdc on the 2180 with emergency and stun and such?
yes Fleetsync is good for emergency if you have NXDN radio is more easy for you to set up if you know how to set up the fleetsync.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions