RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Kenwood & EF Johnson Forum


Kenwood & EF Johnson Forum - For discussion of land mobile radio products manufactured by Kenwood or EF Johnson. For discussion of Kenwood Amateur Radio Equipment, please use the Amateur Radio Equipment forum.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-15-2018, 4:07 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 112
Default Scan feature for Kenwood TK-863G

I recently acquired a TK-863G and LOVE this radio. However, I am having a small problem.I am attempting to build a scan list using the KPG-76D software and I'm struggling. This is what I am attempting to do:

I would like to be able to scan all the channels in Group 1 (I don't have anything programmed in Group 2). I have programmed the A (front button) as a scan nuisance delete button, I think. The SCN front button is programmed to scan.

Yes, I've used the HELP file provided in the programming software numerous times, to no avail.

If you think you can help, please provide step-by-step directions like I'm a 6 year old please.

I own several other newer Kenwood radios and they are not this difficult to program.

Thank you so much for any and all help you can provide. Everyone here has been so helpful in the past, especially McKenna!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-15-2018, 11:44 AM
ramal121's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sonoma, CA
Posts: 1,592
Default

The TK-863G is a trunking radio and operates in a trunked format even though conventional frequencies can be added to the programming.

First, this radio uses "SYSTEMS" and within this are added "GROUPS".

In the programming software you can select which systems are scanned (system lockout) and which groups are scanned (group lockout).

When you press the scan button, the radio will scan as you have set this up in the software. You can specify a button for scan add/delete or scan temp delete but these two only work to enable or disable systems from the scan list. The only way to select groups for scan is through the software. This is true for both fixed system scan and list scan.

It sounds like you would like to scan all groups in one system. Just fill out what you want and leave group lockout and system lockout as no.

Don't forget to put the mic in the clip to start scan unless you check the off hook scan box.

Last edited by ramal121; 10-15-2018 at 11:56 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-15-2018, 9:34 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 112
Default Scan feature for Kenwood TK-863G

Thank you so much!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-20-2018, 8:08 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 112
Default Scan feature for Kenwood TK-863G

So once I depress the scan button and make it stop scanning, it continues to scan. How did I make that stop?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-20-2018, 9:55 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: where they make the cheese
Posts: 251
Default

funny this old bird came up today
i was just working with one of mine Thursday
to get the desired scanning of conventional single channels
I had to enter each as its own system and scan list =yes
and system data has the scan box checked for each "system" which is really now just a channel
and under scan type "list system scan"

so i have 20 channels scanning nicely
I even setup the dtmf memories to do the control sequences on the AllStar repeaters and simplex nodes i work with
im really starting to like that little old thing
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2018, 12:17 PM
ramal121's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sonoma, CA
Posts: 1,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k9wkj View Post
funny this old bird came up today
i was just working with one of mine Thursday
to get the desired scanning of conventional single channels
I had to enter each as its own system and scan list =yes
and system data has the scan box checked for each "system" which is really now just a channel
and under scan type "list system scan"

so i have 20 channels scanning nicely
I even setup the dtmf memories to do the control sequences on the AllStar repeaters and simplex nodes i work with
im really starting to like that little old thing
Exactly. The scan button DOES NOT turn group scan off within a system, it only turns system scan on and off. If you have several frequencies you would create that many systems and only add one frequency per system. Now the scan and add/delete buttons will operate as expected.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-22-2018, 1:41 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 112
Default Scan feature for Kenwood TK-863G

I'm still a little confused. Is it possible to send a screen shot? I'm so sorry! Thank you all so much for the help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions