10m lately (early May 2014)?

Status
Not open for further replies.

wbswetnam

I've been getting some success on 15m lately but I've heard nothing on 10m in a while. Is the band closed most of the time, or is my crummy attic-mounted dipole to blame?

Twister_2

Feed Provider
Well, a dipole in the attic is not ideal for ten, but it has indeed been on and off lately. Why do you chose 15 over 20??

wbswetnam

Well, a dipole in the attic is not ideal for ten, but it has indeed been on and off lately. Why do you chose 15 over 20??

I've been working 20m also, but my int'l contacts have all been on 15m. I admit, though, that I'm brand new to HF. I just got my first HF rig last week, a Kenwood TS-480SAT. I can't have an outside antenna so I am limited to a three-band wire dipole I set up in the attic. It is for 10, 15 and 20 meters. I have been working 20m too, of course and I've made several contacts on it as well as 15. So far, though, nothing on 10m I'll keep trying.

I think next week I'll crawl up in the attic again and set up a second HF antenna, with elements for 40m and 17m.

I had been monitoring 10m with an ICOM R20 wideband receiver and I had heard some great signals from Europe and Latin America. Now that I actually have an HF rig to work with, though, now of course 10m seems to have shut down. Just my luck...

davenlr

Premium Subscriber
Why cant you have an antenna outside? A multiband vertical only takes up about 1 sq foot of ground plus the radials which can be underground or buried in the thatch of the grass.

I dont believe HOA's can ban ham radio antennas.

AK9R

Lead Wiki Manager and almost an Awesome Moderator
Super Moderator
I dont believe HOA's can ban ham radio antennas.
Yes, they can...and they do.