Marine Radio Licence

Status
Not open for further replies.

mdeshon

Hi everyone sorry for the dumb question for I am a complete noob (currently studying for my tech licence) But on to my question. I am wanting to put a Marine Radio in my fishing boat for fishing rivers that have alot of large boat traffic. I was told that it is required to have on to fish the Ohio River. Do I need to get a licence to use this radio on my boat?

Ref-Jazzy

This may or may not help.

The FCC Restricted Radiotelephone Operator Permit is required for boaters having an HF radiotelephone, for boaters having a VHF transceiver and traveling in foreign waters, or where fitting of a marine radio is required by law (e.g. on boats 20m long or larger). There is a fee for this lifetime permit, but no tests are required in applying for this license. An application is made on FCC Form 753, available from local FCC Field Offices or by writing to the FCC, P.O. Box 1050, Gettysburg PA 17326

mdeshon

Ya, i saw that but the Ohio river is not foreign waters and my boat is only like 12 for 14 feet. So according to that i am not required to have one. But would like to use one to my little boat does not get smashed by a big a** barge or tug boat.

redneckcellphone

Premium Subscriber
Ya, i saw that but the Ohio river is not foreign waters and my boat is only like 12 for 14 feet. So according to that i am not required to have one. But would like to use one to my little boat does not get smashed by a big a** barge or tug boat.

trust me you will have plenty of time to move out of the way if a tug or barge comes by. why not get a handheld radio? thats all i use for my boat that size.

mdeshon

I may end up getting a handheld but i currently have a mobile sitting in my closet and I am thinking about just using that to save moneys

redneckcellphone

Premium Subscriber

yes its not required but i believe you are required to have some sort of signaling device. and a marine radio counts as one

com501