RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Service Specific Monitoring > Marine Monitoring Forum

Marine Monitoring Forum - This is the place to discuss monitoring marine communications

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2017, 2:00 AM

Default How far away could this have come from?

I'm new to marine scanning and recently picked up a conversation on 156.45. Somebody was in the process of docking his boat. I am indoors with a stock telescoping antenna.

I'm curious as to how far away from my location this could have been.
Sponsored links
Old 10-29-2017, 2:21 AM
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio

Default How far away could this have come from?

Hi. Well, being indoors with a stock antenna (rubber duckie if it's a hand held scanner and a short metal telescopic antenna if it's a base model) will for sure limit your reception. It also depends upon terrain (are you high up in the hills, for instance?), output power of the marine radio (were they using a handheld or mobile/installed rig?) and propagation conditions (sometimes a signal can travel very far without a lot of power output if atmospheric conditions are favorable).
How far are you from the nearest harbor?
Old 10-29-2017, 2:48 AM

I am basically at sea level - not more than 100 feet higher.

There are a lot of places to dock boats near me. I don't know where the closest harbor is, but certainly not more than 5 miles away.
Old 10-29-2017, 10:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dragon48 View Post
I am basically at sea level - not more than 100 feet higher.

There are a lot of places to dock boats near me. I don't know where the closest harbor is, but certainly not more than 5 miles away.
It's likely that the boat docking was within a mile from you on that frequency given your altitude and proximity to water if it was a clear reception.