How far away could this have come from?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dragon48

I'm new to marine scanning and recently picked up a conversation on 156.45. Somebody was in the process of docking his boat. I am indoors with a stock telescoping antenna.

I'm curious as to how far away from my location this could have been.

Jimru

Premium Subscriber
Hi. Well, being indoors with a stock antenna (rubber duckie if it's a hand held scanner and a short metal telescopic antenna if it's a base model) will for sure limit your reception. It also depends upon terrain (are you high up in the hills, for instance?), output power of the marine radio (were they using a handheld or mobile/installed rig?) and propagation conditions (sometimes a signal can travel very far without a lot of power output if atmospheric conditions are favorable).
How far are you from the nearest harbor?

dragon48

I am basically at sea level - not more than 100 feet higher.

There are a lot of places to dock boats near me. I don't know where the closest harbor is, but certainly not more than 5 miles away.

marksmith

I am basically at sea level - not more than 100 feet higher.

There are a lot of places to dock boats near me. I don't know where the closest harbor is, but certainly not more than 5 miles away.
It's likely that the boat docking was within a mile from you on that frequency given your altitude and proximity to water if it was a clear reception.

I have similar situation with a highway bridge within a mile and can hear every bridge tender vs boat conversation. There is also a marina at the foot of the bridge.

Mark
536/436/ws1095/996p2/996xt/325p2/396xt/psr800/396t/HP-1/HP-2 & others

troymail

Silent Key