Oakland County Open Sky transition

Status
Not open for further replies.

jasonpeoria911

Database Admin
So has the transition started yet for the Open Sky system? Has anyone noticed any busy talkgroups going silent for long periods of times?

Jason

radioron231

jasonpeoria911 said:
So has the transition started yet for the Open Sky system? Has anyone noticed any busy talkgroups going silent for long periods of times?

Jason

The city of Troy is halfway thru the conversion now, only one week left. Sometime after Jan 31st, they will no longer be heard on their old VHF freq's.

Troy FD will always simulcast their primary dispatch talkgroup onto VHF because of the volunteers pagers.

I am new to this. So is my bcd396t useless for the oakland clemis open sky? Any help would be awesome. I hear nothing when i program this system into my scanner.

gpp10x

Premium Subscriber
No scanner currently on the market will monitor the open sky system. There have been many discussions in this forum as to whether or not a scanner capable of monitoring open sky will ever be produced.

Last edited:

diskmonger

The city of Troy is halfway thru the conversion now, only one week left. Sometime after Jan 31st, they will no longer be heard on their old VHF freq's.

Troy FD will always simulcast their primary dispatch talkgroup onto VHF because of the volunteers pagers.

Hmm, that switchover date just seems to get pushed out further and further. I wonder what the next "switchover" date will be after Jan 31st comes and goes.

BT202

Premium Subscriber
Hmm, that switchover date just seems to get pushed out further and further. I wonder what the next "switchover" date will be after Jan 31st comes and goes.