New to scanning

Status
Not open for further replies.

WBLscanner

I'm new to police scanning, and I started using a HomePatrol2 scanner. I'm receiving WBL police main, and WBL fire main frequencies, I don't seem to hear many calls and I'm wondering if there our other sites I should have programmed in my scanner? Thanks for any help you can provide.

d3v1n79mn

Premium Subscriber
I'm in the WBL area and am listening via RTL-SDR.
I am using Unitrunker to listen to the Ramsey County Simulcast.
The Ramsey County Simulcast is a P25 digital trunked system with the main control channel on 852.08750.
White Bear Lake is in this system, fire and police along with about half of the metro area.
As far as just White Bear Lake goes, it's pretty slow.
Maybe 60 hits from fire and police in a day.
Not sure how the home patrol 2 works but I listen to all of the police dispatches on the Ramsey system along with all the tac channels.
I set tac channels above WBL and WBL above all other traffic.
I get great reception but for some reason early morning WBL radio traffic can get garbled.
I do use a roof mounted antenna.
I have only about 3 months worth of knowledge so I'm learning also.

BrainBro

Premium Subscriber
Hello,
I have a HP-1 but I believe they are similar in setup. Be sure you have all of the Service Types you want to listen to selected in your profile. You also may want to extend the range setting under "Location Settings" in your profile. I am in Hennepin county and I do monitor St. Paul but am not that familiar with WBL. If you are trying to monitor something specific I might be able to sort it out. I found that using Scanner Screen (link below) and turning on the Real-time-log is helpful in seeing what is being received and from where.

http://forums.radioreference.com/scanner-programming-software/306096-scanner-screen-von-wallace.html

WBLscanner