St Cloud Area Scanner Guru needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

oldryder1973

Got a Whistler 1065 for Xmas. Been working thru programming but would really benefit from advice from a local guru. I'd be happy to buy lunch for someone familiar with programmng; specifically how to choose from the vast array of talk groups.

I have Win500 software and the necessary RR subscription.

Mark S.
St Cloud MN

stmills

Mark,
Is this your first scanner or did you listen prior to the move to ARMER? If you listened before what did you listen to? If you are new did you have an idea of stuff you want to hear? Fire calls, law enforcement calls , a specific city , Ambulance calls, lots of radio traffic or specific calls? These will all help determine what to program in.

oldryder1973

Total Rookie

stmills; thx for reply. I am a total rookie given the changes since I used to listen with a general coverage receiver many years ago.

I'd like to listen to the various public safety channels to include the state and local PD's and sheriff, local FD's, aviation, CB (maybe), Skywarn, and 2m and 70cm ham simplex and repeaters.

It'll be a base station and, with steel siding on the house, I expect I'll be adding an external antenna. The programming I've done so far seems to work but the scanner never shows any bars for signal strength using the supplied whip antenna. I haven't taken it outside to test yet because it's been so d@mn cold.

Mark S.

dwgelle

What Programming software are you using? I could send you one of my files to try. I have the Radio Shack Version of that model. But let me know where you are primarily will be using it. Such as what town you are in. I can modify it for your location.
Dan

Last edited:

oldryder1973

Dan; thx for the offer. Software is Win500. I also have ARC500 but have been unable to get it to communicate with the scanner.