new with a question

Status
Not open for further replies.

tcr03

ok i live in st. charles mo and am looking to get a portable police scanner so i can listen in on all the action.

i was looking at the uniden bc246t and was wonding if i would be happy with that one.

im very new to scanners and have been looking around alittle, but there is so much to know. digital, non digital, and trunking.

what do you think would suit my needs living where i live.

thanks in advance
matt

N0TDL

I think you would be happy with that , are you close to Saint Louis ? If so you might want a Digital Scanner , if you look in the data base here for your area , you should see the type of systems and freqs for your area

w8jjr

Premium Subscriber
ok i live in st. charles mo and am looking to get a portable police scanner so i can listen in on all the action.

i was looking at the uniden bc246t and was wonding if i would be happy with that one.

im very new to scanners and have been looking around alittle, but there is so much to know. digital, non digital, and trunking.

thanks in advance
matt

You will need digital

shaft

thanks in advance
matt

You are going to be better off with a digital scanner as others have stated. St. Charles City and the Sheriffs office are both digital. There are rumors of a county wide digital system in the works, but not sure if/when it will be on line.

Either a Uniden 396, GRE PSR-500 or the Radio Shack Pro-106 will be your options. All three have their pros and cons, and I personally dont think any of them are better than the other. I have the 396 and it performs very well monitoring the St. Charles area digital systems.

shaft

Keep an eye on the forums here, ebay and craigslist. You can pick up a decent digital for under 300 bucks. I forgot to mention the Radio Shack Pro-96. That actually wouldnt be a bad rig to pick up used. Look hard enough and you can pick it up for $200 to $230 (used).