RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Missouri Radio Discussion Forum


Missouri Radio Discussion Forum - Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Missouri.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2018, 2:43 PM
hjvan's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 155
Default unication G4 on MARRS

HI - anyone else in KC area using a Unification G4 or G5 to monitor KC P25 MARRS system?


I'm using a G4 and it works great but having issue with KCMO site...was going to check with others.

thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2018, 8:39 PM
PVPD730's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hjvan View Post
HI - anyone else in KC area using a Unification G4 or G5 to monitor KC P25 MARRS system?


I'm using a G4 and it works great but having issue with KCMO site...was going to check with others.

thanks
I monitor MARRS with a G4 and a G5. So far I've had great results on all sites.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2018, 8:56 PM
hjvan's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 155
Default

So I can monitor all MARRS sites fine, EXCEPT for the KCMO site (4/1). For some reason I receive an error message anytime I try to listen to that site. Would you mind telling me (or PM me) with FW version you have on your G4? I'm trying to narrow down what's causing the error, and unification staff haven't been terribly helpful (they tell me the next FW version should fix this - but it seems to me others - such as yourself - are able to monitor this site fine, then I doubt a future FW version will fix this on my pager).

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2018, 4:17 AM
PVPD730's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hjvan View Post
So I can monitor all MARRS sites fine, EXCEPT for the KCMO site (4/1). For some reason I receive an error message anytime I try to listen to that site. Would you mind telling me (or PM me) with FW version you have on your G4? I'm trying to narrow down what's causing the error, and unification staff haven't been terribly helpful (they tell me the next FW version should fix this - but it seems to me others - such as yourself - are able to monitor this site fine, then I doubt a future FW version will fix this on my pager).

Thanks
My G4 is running V0.90-0.14A-R11P. It's a much older version. I decided to hold off on doing the Phase II upgrade a while longer. Don't be surprised about Unication not being much help. You'll have better luck getting straight answers from a dealer. Your firmware version shouldn't matter much in terms of being able to receive system traffic. I suspect some of your programming could be off.

Are your WACN ID and System ID settings correct? WACN should be BEE00 and System ID is 2B0. RFSS ID is 4 and Site is 1. Also, it might not hurt to make sure you have all control channels programmed. For KCMO, those are 851.05000, 851.32500, 851.60000, and 851.86200.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2018, 8:51 AM
troymail's Avatar
Silent Key
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
Posts: 9,977
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hjvan View Post
So I can monitor all MARRS sites fine, EXCEPT for the KCMO site (4/1). For some reason I receive an error message anytime I try to listen to that site. Would you mind telling me (or PM me) with FW version you have on your G4? I'm trying to narrow down what's causing the error, and unification staff haven't been terribly helpful (they tell me the next FW version should fix this - but it seems to me others - such as yourself - are able to monitor this site fine, then I doubt a future FW version will fix this on my pager).

Thanks
What is the error message and does it pop up right away when you try to monitor that specific site?

Also - what version is on your radio?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PVPD730 View Post
My G4 is running V0.90-0.14A-R11P. It's a much older version. I decided to hold off on doing the Phase II upgrade a while longer. Don't be surprised about Unication not being much help. You'll have better luck getting straight answers from a dealer. Your firmware version shouldn't matter much in terms of being able to receive system traffic. I suspect some of your programming could be off.

Are your WACN ID and System ID settings correct? WACN should be BEE00 and System ID is 2B0. RFSS ID is 4 and Site is 1. Also, it might not hurt to make sure you have all control channels programmed. For KCMO, those are 851.05000, 851.32500, 851.60000, and 851.86200.
Are you able to monitor the KCMO site (4/1) on your Unication with issue?
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR1080,PSR500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2018, 12:18 PM
hjvan's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 155
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troymail View Post
What is the error message and does it pop up right away when you try to monitor that specific site?


The error message pops up as soon as the site locks in. The exact error message number itself has varied.
I've double/triple checked to make sure all the settings/control freqs are correct. As I mentioned, the other sites come in fine w/o ever receiving an error message

Also - what version is on your radio?

My FW version is 1.00-T8. I just got the G4 couple of weeks ago, so it came with the phase 2 update already installed.

Are you able to monitor the KCMO site (4/1) on your Unication with issue?
See attachment for snippet of my system settings.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2018, 12:23 PM
hjvan's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 155
Default

I think my responses got mixed in with response above.

Just got my G4 couple of weeks back, so it came with phase 2. FW version 1.00-T8.

All other sites lock in fine. Error starts as soon as the 4/1 kcmo site locks in. Error number has varied..no issues with any of the other sites.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2018, 9:46 AM
PVPD730's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troymail View Post
Are you able to monitor the KCMO site (4/1) on your Unication with issue?
I'm able to monitor all sites, including 4/1, with no issues.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hjvan
I think my responses got mixed in with response above.

Just got my G4 couple of weeks back, so it came with phase 2. FW version 1.00-T8.

All other sites lock in fine. Error starts as soon as the 4/1 kcmo site locks in. Error number has varied..no issues with any of the other sites.
Based on the screenshots, your programming looks correct. Unsure why your device doesn't like that one site but all others are working. You might contact Ray Zimmerman at Ray's pager sales 1-717-859-2021, and bounce your problem off of him. He might be able to provide better help than Unication support can.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2018, 6:26 PM
hjvan's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 155
Default

maybe it is related to my pager being phase 2? I've posted response I received back from unification re: this issue.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2018, 11:36 PM
PVPD730's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hjvan View Post
maybe it is related to my pager being phase 2? I've posted response I received back from unification re: this issue.
Doubt it has anything to do with the added Phase 2 capability. Your device should be able to handle both Phase 1 & 2 without issues. This is probably a silly question, but have you pulled and reinstalled the battery as the e-mail suggested? If so, and nothing changed you could try reinstalling the most recent firmware update again and see what happens. Otherwise, you may have to wait it out until they release the next update.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2018, 12:09 PM
hjvan's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 155
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PVPD730 View Post
Doubt it has anything to do with the added Phase 2 capability. Your device should be able to handle both Phase 1 & 2 without issues. This is probably a silly question, but have you pulled and reinstalled the battery as the e-mail suggested? If so, and nothing changed you could try reinstalling the most recent firmware update again and see what happens. Otherwise, you may have to wait it out until they release the next update.

Thanks. Yeah, I've tried pulling battery and I've also re-installed the FW to no avail. Everything else works fine. Guess i'll wait to see if new FW fixes this...otherwise I may have a faulty unit.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2018, 5:26 PM
hjvan's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 155
Default

Check out the main unification forum. New FW being released tomorrow. Hoping this will fix my issues. It also will add phase 2 capability to all pagers.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 08-19-2018, 9:54 PM
hjvan's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 155
Default

Happy to report the new FW just released resolved issues monitoring KCMO site.

Thanks all
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 08-19-2018, 11:33 PM
PVPD730's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hjvan View Post
Happy to report the new FW just released resolved issues monitoring KCMO site.

Thanks all
That's great to hear! I just installed the 1.10 update and the audio sounds much better.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions