RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Motorola Forum


Motorola Forum - For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-20-2016, 10:50 PM
Priority-One's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: 155th street
Posts: 374
Default XTS5000 advanced keys

I just purchased a VHF XTS5000 and spent about 3 hours programming it tonight.
I went to write the radio with all the AAR channels on RX only and I keep getting the message below



What can I do to fix this problem? as I DO NOT WANT TRUNKING

I'm looking to use this radio for P25 and Conventional RX only



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Providing the broadcastify feed for the 25/28/32 pcts in Harlem.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2016, 12:06 AM
BigLebowski's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Piedmont NC
Posts: 977
Default

You either need the advanced system key(s) for the systems that were programmed into the radio or you will need to hex edit the codeplug for the radio to remove the ASK requirement. Instructions for this are floating around on the internet.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2016, 12:10 AM
Priority-One's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: 155th street
Posts: 374
Default

I may be willing to pay someone to help me out for the right price. I just want to be able to program conventional analog and conventional P25 vhf. No trunking


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Providing the broadcastify feed for the 25/28/32 pcts in Harlem.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2016, 12:19 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida, where you wish you were!
Posts: 2,555
Default

This is the ASK problem, which is by far one of the STUPIDEST things Motorola ever did, in some ways it's even more stupid than when they "toolproofed" the Jedi radios to keep leaked lab software from being used with them.

With the ASK problem, Advanced System Key enabled, if you don't have the relevant Advanced System Keys in your programming computer, you can't edit the radio's contents and be able to save them to the radio, even if you only edit conventional data. Even if there's no trunking data in the radio, the presence of the ASK demands that the keys have to be in your programming computer for the trunked system(s) that used the ASK in question.

What this means is that radios can NOT have their trunking data removed from them unless they're removed from a computer that has the valid ASK keys loaded into it.

Which is precisely the OPPOSITE of what a system administrator should want to happen, from the perspective of system security.

Imagine...a bunch of radios get sent to public auction because they're out of date. But they still have the trunked system data in them and can still interact with the system....but they can't be deprogrammed!

Really, it IS that stupid.

Yes, there are ways to remove the ASK from the radio. I know of at least two. Neither of which I'm going to talk about and neither of which I can provide to anybody for any reason.
__________________
No, I will not program your radio for you. No, I will not give you any software. Don't ask unless you want a rude answer.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2016, 12:24 AM
Priority-One's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: 155th street
Posts: 374
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElroyJetson View Post

Imagine...a bunch of radios get sent to public auction because they're out of date. But they still have the trunked system data in them and can still interact with the system....but they can't be deprogrammed!

Really, it IS that stupid.

Yes, there are ways to remove the ASK from the radio. I know of at least two. Neither of which I'm going to talk about and neither of which I can provide to anybody for any reason.
This is exactly what has happened to me. I got the radio last week in an auction, spent hours today on my day off programming it, only to find it's worthless now and I can not return it per the policy of the seller.

So what am I to do now with the radio?
It's programmed with some military VHF trunked system for which I have no use for.
I am looking for an option to remediate this problem so I can program the radio for RX only.

I'd be willing to pay someone to help remove the ASK. I don't want anything to do with the TRS. just the conventional P25 and analog programming.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2016, 1:01 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 350
Default

ASK ouch
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2016, 2:11 AM
Priority-One's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: 155th street
Posts: 374
Default

I fixed it! Thanks for all the help!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Providing the broadcastify feed for the 25/28/32 pcts in Harlem.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2016, 2:13 AM
RayAir's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Island of OpenSky
Posts: 1,634
Default

Pretty sure there was an ASK removal tool.

Not sure you'll find it here. Try that Australian site.
__________________
KXKYC JBSOB XBMZE LCVHV WCW
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2016, 2:15 AM
Priority-One's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: 155th street
Posts: 374
Default

I used the tool and rewrote the code plug with some great advice from a friend. So it's all good now and I wrote it with the AAR RX only channels. Works great


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Providing the broadcastify feed for the 25/28/32 pcts in Harlem.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2016, 10:01 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Barstow, California
Posts: 83
Default

There is an actual tool to remove the ASK? I have an MCS2000 that was programmed with a ASK and it's just collecting dust in my garage.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-02-2016, 9:34 AM
K5KDF's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 30
Default

reflash the radio will remove the ASK
__________________
I use a radio not a scanner
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2018, 11:46 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 660
Default

I have a xts 2500 that I got for work and I went to take it to the radio shop for programming and it has ASK on it. I need help getting it removed. The radio shop said they are busy so I have to remove it then they will program it. I need help please.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2018, 6:49 PM
captaincab's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: monitoring delco pa with gre psr300 pro2053 and bearcat 560xlt
Posts: 351
Default

Hmmmm seems weird a radio shop turning down a customer for a job like that.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2018, 6:50 PM
Priority-One's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: 155th street
Posts: 374
Default

Hey. Sorry for the delay. You have to have depot software for Astro radios to blow out the ASK.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Providing the broadcastify feed for the 25/28/32 pcts in Harlem.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2018, 7:43 PM
MCore25's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lone Star Republic
Posts: 2,649
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captaincab View Post
Hmmmm seems weird a radio shop turning down a customer for a job like that.


Not if it’s a radio shop directly attached to the system being used. Example, most large municipalities and large state agencies have their own in-house radio techs. Some systems are so strict that even MR’s can’t obtain the clone key let alone an ASK. Also forces all programming jobs to go through the municipality’s radio shop.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
If a repeater IDs and no one is on frequency to hear it, does it even make a sound? Yes, because KC5MVZ is monitoring you…
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2018, 10:30 AM
clbsquared's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Isle of Wight County
Posts: 324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rescue674aa View Post
I have a xts 2500 that I got for work and I went to take it to the radio shop for programming and it has ASK on it. I need help getting it removed. The radio shop said they are busy so I have to remove it then they will program it. I need help please.
PM me, Rescue. I can help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions