RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Motorola Forum


Motorola Forum - For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2017, 5:01 PM
   
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2
Unhappy CP200 can't program UHF frequencies (VHF only)

Hi,

I'm trying to program an old CP200 (Model number H50KDC9AA2AN). When I read the radio into CPS v15.16, it lists the radio's frequency range as 146.0174.0 MHz only, with no VHF2 or UHF frequency ranges listed. The software won't let me program any UHF frequencies into "channel personalities".

We use almost exclusively the CP200 and XLR version on the Ski Patrol, so I have used this radio a lot. I have always thought of the CP200 as a dual-band rig; this is the first one I've encountered that won't let me program UHF frequencies.

Does Motorola make a CP200 not capable of UHF and VHF2 bands? Could a firmware upgrade (or the online Wideband patches) fix this, or does the device lack the physical UHF radio? Current firmware is R03.07.01

Best,
SeniorShizzle
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2017, 5:09 PM
MikeOxlong's Avatar
Forums Manager/Global DB Admin/Commie
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Central Ontario
Posts: 10,217
Default

CP200's are not and have never been dual band.

I'm not sure what you mean by VHF2?

Bottom line, if you want to use UHF frequencies, you'll need to buy a new radio.
__________________
Mike.

Sorry but I don't accept PM's. Please use email instead.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2017, 5:19 PM
   
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2
Default

MikeOxlong,

Thanks for the quick update. That makes a lot of sense, now. The CP200s are *either* VHF or UHF.

As for the "VHF2", the user's manual lists two VHF ranges: 136162 MHz or 146174 MHz. I guess those are different radio models as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2017, 5:36 PM
clbsquared's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Isle of Wight County
Posts: 364
Default

As Mike said. They are not dual band capable. You have a VHF and you need a UHF. Lucky for you they can be found pretty cheap on EBay.

Sent from my HTC One A9 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cp200, cps, motorola, programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions