RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Motorola Forum


Motorola Forum - For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2017, 11:54 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 58
Default Backward Compatability, Any way to?

The sources I've spoken to say no, however I figured I'd reach out to the community. Is there any way that anyone has heard of or found to take an APX (APX7000,7500) codeplug and import it to an Astro codeplug (XTL2500)? I have a very comprehensive APX load and need to migrate it to some of the existing XTL units I have in my fleet. It's over 600 channels combined and I really, really, do not want to hand enter from scratch. This is in an official department capacity, and I have all software products and keys. Thank you.

Nick
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2017, 12:07 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma Co., California
Posts: 277
Default

Perhaps the APX Migration Utility is backwards compatible? I honestly doubt what you want done is out there in the professional world though.

Start typing away is my best recommendation...

Regards,

-Frank C.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2017, 12:57 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 58
Default

Thank you for your reply Frank, the Migration tool unfortunately does not go backwards.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2017, 1:26 PM
Forts's Avatar
Mentor
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Strathroy, Ontario Canada
Posts: 5,314
Default

Can you Export the personalities and such from the APX cps then import into the Astro25 CPS? I've done this when cloning a mobile to a portable etc and it works well after getting the feel for what you need to export.
__________________
Middlesex County/Strathroy-Caradoc Fire Paging Alerts: http://groups.google.com/group/middlesex-fire
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2017, 1:32 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 58
Default

Unfortunately no. APX exports as an .xml and Astro imports as a .csv. Even converting the .xml to a .csv is not importable by the Astro software. I have done copy and pasting in the past, especially from various spreadsheet formats, but the APX won't even export in a manner that facilitates that. At least that I've found yet.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2017, 1:37 PM
Forts's Avatar
Mentor
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Strathroy, Ontario Canada
Posts: 5,314
Default

Well.... Crap!
__________________
Middlesex County/Strathroy-Caradoc Fire Paging Alerts: http://groups.google.com/group/middlesex-fire
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2017, 1:49 PM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 6,600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Station81FirstAlarm View Post
Unfortunately no. APX exports as an .xml and Astro imports as a .csv. Even converting the .xml to a .csv is not importable by the Astro software. I have done copy and pasting in the past, especially from various spreadsheet formats, but the APX won't even export in a manner that facilitates that. At least that I've found yet.
The above is correct.....for some reason Mother Moto does not want any of us to be able to go back to XTS/XTLs after using an APX....I wonder why

I have an excel tool that will convert an APX xml Zone/Channel file to a easily readable excel radio template but nothing that will go from APX back to XTS/XTL.

Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
Frequently Asked Questions
Forum Rules & Guidelines

@KE4ZNR on Twitter
http://instagram.com/KE4ZNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2017, 2:53 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KE4ZNR View Post
The above is correct.....for some reason Mother Moto does not want any of us to be able to go back to XTS/XTLs after using an APX....I wonder why

I have an excel tool that will convert an APX xml Zone/Channel file to a easily readable excel radio template but nothing that will go from APX back to XTS/XTL.

Marshall KE4ZNR
Thank you Marshall, and I figured to be the case, but you never know. Are you interested in sharing your tool via PM or other means? I may be able to do something with it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions