RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Motorola Forum


Motorola Forum - For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2018, 7:01 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Grand Blanc Mi
Posts: 11
Default Windows XP ASTRO 25 Portage CPS R20.

Howdy all
I'm trying to install ASTRO 25 Portable CPS R20. on my Windows XP machine.
as i start up the setup I get an error say "The Installation Wizard has detected that the Motorola Application Launcher is running in the System Tray. Please close the Launcher before installing or uninstalling the ASTRO 25 Portable CPS" as soon as i hit OK the program closes.

thank you for you're help!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2018, 7:28 PM
MCore25's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lone Star Republic
Posts: 3,036
Default

Have you tried restarting your computer?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
If a repeater IDs and no one is on frequency to hear it, does it even make a sound? Yes, because KC5MVZ is monitoring you…
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2018, 7:33 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Grand Blanc Mi
Posts: 11
Default

Yes i did try that once i"ll try again
i think i'll shut the PC down
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2018, 7:38 PM
Newbie
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: valla beach nsw
Posts: 1
Default

open task manager. go to system or processes tab find the item giving you grief and click end process
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2018, 7:40 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Grand Blanc Mi
Posts: 11
Default

same thing happened
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2018, 7:49 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Grand Blanc Mi
Posts: 11
Default

Got it to work
Had Motorola RSS running in background. Good ol task manager
Thank you for your help
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2018, 10:38 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Posts: 2,825
Default

I believe current Astro 25 CPS will require Windows 7, or newer. I used to run CPS 14 in my XP, but newer versions required me to get a Windows 7 laptop.
__________________
FORMERLY MOONBOOTS
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2018, 11:13 AM
Will001's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Pine Ridge, SC
Posts: 367
Default

I've got the newest Astro CPS on a XP machine, and it works fine


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
HAM Radio Call: KN4IMX
GMRS Call: WQYT-477
I own too many radios to put in the signature
Ø=a bad day for scanner enthusiasts, and also a bad day for public safety...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2018, 12:06 PM
MCore25's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lone Star Republic
Posts: 3,036
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N4KVE View Post
I believe current Astro 25 CPS will require Windows 7, or newer. I used to run CPS 14 in my XP, but newer versions required me to get a Windows 7 laptop.
R20.00.01 supports XP/Vista/7/8/8.1 on either 32 bit or 64 bit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will001 View Post
I've got the newest Astro CPS on a XP machine, and it works fine


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Astro and Astro 25 are two different series of radios. Astro is first gen digital radios such as Astro Spectra, Astro Saber and XTS3000. Astro 25 is XTL, XTS (excluding the XTS3000) and Astro Spectra Plus. Astro CPS typically will have comm issues when ran on 64 bit machines.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
If a repeater IDs and no one is on frequency to hear it, does it even make a sound? Yes, because KC5MVZ is monitoring you…
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2018, 1:05 PM
Will001's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Pine Ridge, SC
Posts: 367
Default

I meant to add the "25" to "Astro", but I was too lazy but I have the Astro25 CPS on my XP computer and it runs fine


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
HAM Radio Call: KN4IMX
GMRS Call: WQYT-477
I own too many radios to put in the signature
Ø=a bad day for scanner enthusiasts, and also a bad day for public safety...
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2018, 1:44 AM
Newbie
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: TAREE NSW
Posts: 4
Default

HI mate ( Sarc122) - contact me via private message - im in Mid north coast.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cps, windows xp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions