RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Motorola Forum


Motorola Forum - For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2018, 4:09 PM
N1GTL's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 648
Default

RDAC, in and of itself, WILL NOT narrow down an SWR problem. The question and first 5 posts were all referencing the duplexer being the issue (which it was). That's what I addressed.
__________________
Connecticut Database Administrator
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2018, 4:10 PM
N1GTL's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 648
Default

When you say you get nothing....do you mean no output power? or nothing reflected? If no output power, you have more work to do. If your reflected is nothing, you should be set.
__________________
Connecticut Database Administrator
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2018, 4:43 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,058
Default

Bypass the duplexer and see what you get. Hook the transmit side of the repeater up directly to the antenna and just leave the receive port of the repeater disconnected (key it with a portable). If SWR is under 2.0:1 (ideally you'll want under 1.5:1) that is working properly. Then go and test both the transmit side of the duplexer (meter between repeater and duplexer) and output and compare results (also compare forward power if possible and put it into a log comparison, if it comes out to more than 2.5 dB of loss you have duplexer issues).
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2018, 5:24 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MCore25 View Post
Which can be done through RDAC via the process of elimination (test repeater into a load, test duplexer into a load, test antenna) using the built in tools. If one doesn't have access to a SWR meter you can still figure out where the issue may be centered around. Just another tool to use to reach the same conclusion.
What would a good SWR reading be?


Nevermind :|

Last edited by jackel0228; 02-05-2018 at 5:26 PM.. Reason: Just saw previous post.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2018, 5:25 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 25
Default

No movement on the Power/SWR meter.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2018, 5:27 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MCore25 View Post
Bypass the duplexer and see what you get. Hook the transmit side of the repeater up directly to the antenna and just leave the receive port of the repeater disconnected (key it with a portable). If SWR is under 2.0:1 (ideally you'll want under 1.5:1) that is working properly. Then go and test both the transmit side of the duplexer (meter between repeater and duplexer) and output and compare results (also compare forward power if possible and put it into a log comparison, if it comes out to more than 2.5 dB of loss you have duplexer issues).
I Don't have all the connections/adapters to get my meter between the radio and duplexer. I thought about doing that too.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2018, 7:13 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 25
Default

So I finally got it all worked out. It was definitely a duplexer with the TX and RX swapped up. I show 28-30 watts of forward power and a little less than 3:1 swr. Seems to be working fine now. Thanks for the help...


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cps, dmr, motorola, programming, repeater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 9:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions