RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Motorola Forum


Motorola Forum - For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 9:06 AM
Will001's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Pine Ridge, SC
Posts: 295
Default Astro Spectra startup question

Hey guys, Iíve always wondered about this, but is there a way to reprogram the radio to startup as soon as I turn on my power supply? I have two of these radios I use as base stations, and every time I turn on the power source, I have to manually push the power button on the radio for it to come on. Iíve heard it has something to do with the ignition sense wire, but I was still wondering if there is a way to make it turn on automatically.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
HAM Radio Call: KN4IMX
GMRS Call: WQYT-477
I own too many radios to put in the signature
ō=a bad day for scanner enthusiasts, and also a bad day for public safety...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 10:02 AM
SimpleSkye's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 53
Default

The only way is with ignition sense like you have heard. Connect the ignition sense wire to your +12v of the power supply powering the radios. When the power supply turns on, so will the radios.

Last edited by SimpleSkye; 06-14-2018 at 10:09 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 6:12 PM
rescue161's Avatar
KE4FHH
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hubert, NC
Posts: 3,090
Default

Even if you connect the power and the ignition together on the same power supply, when you turn on the power supply, you'll still have to press the power button on the radio. This is because the power wire must be on a constant power source for it to retain the "power state" when the ignition wire is on/off. There is a mod for the control head that bypasses this if you are using it as a base. It involves removing or adding a jumper near the power button on the control head. It's not hard to do. I used this mod on a Spectra repeater that used two Spectra radios and I needed them to turn on automatically.
__________________
Hams Against Magnetic Mounts
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 6:17 PM
SimpleSkye's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rescue161 View Post
Even if you connect the power and the ignition together on the same power supply, when you turn on the power supply, you'll still have to press the power button on the radio. This is because the power wire must be on a constant power source for it to retain the "power state" when the ignition wire is on/off. There is a mod for the control head that bypasses this if you are using it as a base. It involves removing or adding a jumper near the power button on the control head. It's not hard to do. I used this mod on a Spectra repeater that used two Spectra radios and I needed them to turn on automatically.
Huh - I didn't know that! Learn something new every day...

I always had the radio connected to the battery and ignition going to some other circuit, so I guess I never would have noticed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 6:20 PM
rescue161's Avatar
KE4FHH
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hubert, NC
Posts: 3,090
Default

As long as the main power wire is always at 12V and you use the ignition wire to turn on/off the radio, it will follow the ignition wire. If you lose power to the main wire, then it will forget its state and have to be powered on manually. Same goes for last channel selected, etc. If you lose power altogether, then it will power on on the home channel.
__________________
Hams Against Magnetic Mounts
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 6:32 PM
cmdrwill's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cali
Posts: 2,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rescue161 View Post
As long as the main power wire is always at 12V and you use the ignition wire to turn on/off the radio, it will follow the ignition wire. If you lose power to the main wire, then it will forget its state and have to be powered on manually. Same goes for last channel selected, etc. If you lose power altogether, then it will power on on the home channel.

Exactly...

Did you change the IGN settings in the CPS? I am going to check in my CPS on this.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 6:43 PM
rescue161's Avatar
KE4FHH
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hubert, NC
Posts: 3,090
Default

JU7 controls the power button bypass. Jumper JU7 & JU1 and it will power on without you needing to press the power button.

This is per Repeater Builder, here:
http://www.repeater-builder.com/moto...n-jumpers.html
__________________
Hams Against Magnetic Mounts

Last edited by rescue161; 06-14-2018 at 7:00 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2018, 6:58 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York North Carolina and all points in between
Posts: 2,333
Default

Or use a W-4 head
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions