RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Motorola Forum


Motorola Forum - For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2018, 10:47 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 48
Default cdm 1550 ls+

im looking to buy a cdm 1550 ls+ but not sure how many conventional channels it has some say 16 others say 160 model number is AAM25KKF9DP6AN , also states that it will not encode or decode radio id in non trunking mode , am i better off with a cdn 1250 im new to this .
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2018, 11:05 AM
davidzimmerman's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: parma,ohio
Posts: 1,787
Default

if i remember the model with 160 channels does encode MDC IDs guess it depends how many channels you need ?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2018, 11:29 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 48
Smile david

i was reading that it will only do 16 conventional is that true im new to this just wondering is someone posting wrong info on sites , i need 45 conventional channels with mdc encode and decode if i can do that i will buy but i need help , thank you .
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2018, 11:45 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Posts: 2,696
Default

People are able to “modify” the LS to do 160 conv freq’s. Basically they are “converting” it to the non LS version.
__________________
FORMERLY MOONBOOTS
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2018, 12:02 PM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: WTVLCA01DS0
Posts: 8,858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich1125 View Post
i was reading that it will only do 16 conventional is that true im new to this just wondering is someone posting wrong info on sites , i need 45 conventional channels with mdc encode and decode if i can do that i will buy but i need help , thank you .
The trunking models will only do 16 conventional channels.
The non-trunking models will do more. How many depends on the exact model.

Be cautious on e-Bay. Some sellers will try to hide the fact that they are trunking radios.
There also is someone on e-bay that offers a service converting trunking radios to non-trunking radios, giving you more than 16 conventional channels.

Non-trunking models will do MDC.

Don't overlook the CDM-1250's, which will do 64 channels.

As always, Batwing Laboratories is a great source of information.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2018, 1:59 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 48
Default

thank you guys i appreciate all the knowlegde you gave me
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2018, 9:51 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 288
Default

The model with the "6AN" model number has 160 conventional channels and can encode and decode MDC. If it is only a "5AN' you get 16 conventional channels and I think some have MDC and some don't.
__________________
Motorola XPR6550, HT1250, CDM1550LS+, XTS5000, CP200, CP150, CP200d, XPR7550e, 2 MCS2000, 2 I355
TYT MD380
Kenwood TK880
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2018, 8:35 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cheese country
Posts: 52
Default CDM 1550 LS+ model number decoding

See comment #5 in this thread to decipher the model numbers. Don't buy the radio if you don't have the full model number as the capabilities vary pretty widely between the models.

https://forums.radioreference.com/mo...ml#post2921209
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-09-2018, 12:39 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 17
Default CDM 1550 ls+

I just programmed one a couple days ago, and one thing to note is that while there are various model # versions with X amount of channels that can be programmed, you can only create scan lists with 16 memories or channels to scan. You can have several scan lists, but can only scan 16 channels at a time.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-09-2018, 9:36 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bumby View Post
I just programmed one a couple days ago, and one thing to note is that while there are various model # versions with X amount of channels that can be programmed, you can only create scan lists with 16 memories or channels to scan. You can have several scan lists, but can only scan 16 channels at a time.
I think that's on all Moto radio's regardless of the LTR trunking or not. I think the XPR7550 and APX might be different scan list wise but maybe someone else can confirm that.
__________________
Motorola XPR6550, HT1250, CDM1550LS+, XTS5000, CP200, CP150, CP200d, XPR7550e, 2 MCS2000, 2 I355
TYT MD380
Kenwood TK880
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-09-2018, 12:07 PM
Skypilot007's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Medford, NJ
Posts: 2,087
Default

XPR will only do 15+1 as usual, the APX is 50 channels I think. Not sure, never had a need to max it out but it will do more than the standard 15+1.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-09-2018, 1:47 PM
MCore25's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lone Star Republic
Posts: 2,977
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K2NEC View Post
I think that's on all Moto radio's regardless of the LTR trunking or not. I think the XPR7550 and APX might be different scan list wise but maybe someone else can confirm that.
I seem to remember something about the Syntor X9000 being able to handle 64 channels or more in it's scan list but that's a derelict of a radio these days.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skypilot007 View Post
XPR will only do 15+1 as usual, the APX is 50 channels I think. Not sure, never had a need to max it out but it will do more than the standard 15+1.
But does that hold true for trunking as well? All of the APX SU's I've dealt with were built off of Astro 25 templates and as a result held the 10 talk group scan limit in them.
__________________
If a repeater IDs and no one is on frequency to hear it, does it even make a sound? Yes, because KC5MVZ is monitoring you…
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions