RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Motorola Forum


Motorola Forum - For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-11-2018, 1:18 AM
spdfile1's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Palm Beach,FL
Posts: 323
Default HT1000 & MT2000 tech question?

I have an HT1000 16-Channel UHF (S split) that has super low audio on receive. When I swapped it out to replace the back battery plate I noticed there were two boards....a controller board & transceiver board. If I purchase an S split transceiver board off ebay (that is tested to work) that should fix my issue right?

I also have 2 MT2000's (VHF-K split) one partial keypad & one full keypad both with front displays & both with pixels that are so broken you really can't read them. If I purchase a couple used units on ebay with good pixel displays I can swap out the display boards right regardless of what band split they are?
__________________
N4SYR (nee-KC2PBB)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-11-2018, 1:51 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Posts: 2,843
Default

The display assemblies/boards are the same. Full keypad, partial keypad, any band. But if you buy a different transceiver board, & install it, the radio would then need to be aligned, as the tuning settings are stored in the controller board.
__________________
FORMERLY MOONBOOTS
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-11-2018, 2:05 AM
spdfile1's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Palm Beach,FL
Posts: 323
Default

Ok got it. Thanks Gary.
__________________
N4SYR (nee-KC2PBB)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-11-2018, 2:56 AM
mancow's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: N.E. Kansas
Posts: 5,522
Default

Is the audio amp on the controller or the RF deck? I can't remember but you might check the service manual.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-11-2018, 9:19 AM
MTS2000des's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cobb County, GA Stadium Crime Zone
Posts: 2,685
Default

Controller board. U702 on Flashport controllers, U706 on masked ROM controllers.


Link to service manual with part locations:
http://manuals.repeater-builder.com/...81200C75-B.pdf
__________________
NO I will not help program your trunking radio. All opinions are exclusively those of the author and in no way reflect the position of his employer, contractors or other parties.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-11-2018, 5:50 PM
spdfile1's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Palm Beach,FL
Posts: 323
Default

I don't know how to repair the boards myself .... yet but I have swapped them out with no problem. My usual radio guy says it might be more then he can handle as he says Mother M uses some pretty intricate circuits. However I found a guy on ebay who will sell me the boards and have them ready for me to just install for $20 not including shipping. I just have to give him the model # of my "S" split HT1000 and the S/N. I may go that route. Ok so next challenge which I'm pretty sure I can handle myself is getting some good pixel screens from some used MT2000's and/or MTS2000's so I can swap out the two broken pixel screens off my 2 MT2000's. Got some leads off ebay.
__________________
N4SYR (nee-KC2PBB)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2018, 7:29 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 97
Default Why go to all the trouble?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spdfile1 View Post
I found a guy on ebay who will sell me the boards and have them ready for me to just install for $20 not including shipping. I just have to give him the model # of my "S" split HT1000 and the S/N.
Pretty sure you can find a complete and working HT1000 on eBay for $20 - shipping included. No need to swap parts or boards. Just plug & play.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2018, 8:34 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Posts: 2,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioGuy7268 View Post
Pretty sure you can find a complete and working HT1000 on eBay for $20 - shipping included. No need to swap parts or boards. Just plug & play.
I second this. Or pay a little more, & get MTS2000ís.
__________________
FORMERLY MOONBOOTS
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2018, 10:56 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In the 'patch
Posts: 5,032
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioGuy7268 View Post
Pretty sure you can find a complete and working HT1000 on eBay for $20 - shipping included. No need to swap parts or boards. Just plug & play.


Quote:
Originally Posted by N4KVE View Post
I second this. Or pay a little more, & get MTS2000ís.


Or move onto radios that are in every way better. Better built, better performing, smaller and are not all that more expensive.

If the OP is dead set on sticking to Motorola, then I would skip right to either a XTS2500 or XTS5000. Big plus is that the CPS is compatible with modern computers, and you donít need to mess with serial ports.

Frankly I donít know why one wants to mess with anything older, that is fussy if trying to program with a USB->serial adapter.

If one is patient, they can be had for a reasonable price(under $300) there is a TON of this gear hitting the surplus market.

The alternative is to look at other brands.

Vertex and Kenwood make some solid gear, cheap and is far more capable than a HT1000 or MT/MTS2000.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Interoperatablity is not a technology, it is an attitude!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2018, 5:01 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 175 DME, HEC 358į Radial
Posts: 5,623
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioGuy7268 View Post
Pretty sure you can find a complete and working HT1000 on eBay for $20 - shipping included. No need to swap parts or boards. Just plug & play.
This ^^^

I've had an almost 100% success rate buying working HT1000's on eBay. Once you get your working radio, spend a few more bucks on a new or clean used case, if needed, and you end up with an almost new looking radio for pretty cheap.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2018, 5:02 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 175 DME, HEC 358į Radial
Posts: 5,623
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kayn1n32008 View Post
Frankly I donít know why one wants to mess with anything older, that is fussy if trying to program with a USB->serial adapter.

If one is patient, they can be had for a reasonable price(under $300) there is a TON of this gear hitting the surplus market.
Price? An HT1000 is 10 dB less costly than an XTS.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2018, 5:11 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In the 'patch
Posts: 5,032
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zz0468 View Post
Price? An HT1000 is 10 dB less costly than an XTS.


And itís also 10dB more of a pain in the but to program.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Interoperatablity is not a technology, it is an attitude!!!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2018, 5:16 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 175 DME, HEC 358į Radial
Posts: 5,623
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kayn1n32008 View Post
And it’s also 10dB more of a pain in the but to program.
Depends... I've got DOS computers, RIBs, OEM cables, and software. Programming is a piece of cake.

For someone starting from scratch, a RIBless USB cable and CPS that runs under Windows would be easier. Yeah, DOS could be a pain.

Last edited by zz0468; 08-12-2018 at 5:25 PM.. Reason: So it actually makes sense.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2018, 5:18 PM
spdfile1's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Palm Beach,FL
Posts: 323
Default

I don't disagree with the newer stuff being far better but I hold a lot of value with the older stuff such as the Genesis, Jedi, Maxtrac, Radius, Spectra, etc. plus I'm set up to program it. I also agree there is a ton of great gear for those series radios on ebay and cheap!!! The prices on the newer stuff is usually a bit more than I want to spend. As far as the HT1000 it's in great shape and works great with the exception of the receive audio problem so I wanna try to fix it so it can be 100%. It'll be good for me to take it apart and learn the inside's as well. And I'll be looking for more of the same cheap on ebay. Matter of fact I bought an HT1000 (VHF) ex-BNSF Railroad radio on Propertyroom.com for $4 with $12.95 shipping and brought it home and programmed it up and she works like a charm!!!!!
__________________
N4SYR (nee-KC2PBB)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions