ARC Lowband channels - used?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PJH

Premium Subscriber
Has only heard in their area the American Red Cross lowband channels used? They keep the nationwide licenses active, but cannot remember a time that anyone anywhere has used them.

haleve

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
ARC 47.42 MHz

Has only heard in their area the American Red Cross lowband channels used? They keep the nationwide licenses active, but cannot remember a time that anyone anywhere has used them.

I never heard peep from them when I lived in Central Florida or even when I am home in Noo Yawk & still don't hear them down here even though I see them constantly at fire scenes preparing burned out residents for relocation, my best guess is they're notified by telephone even though they have a talkgroup on the Broward County trunked system, go figure.

www.wikipedia.org/wiki/ECRV

petnrdx

I have been scanning their freq for probably 15 years in my POV, NEVER heard anyone on it. Including driving across the US 5 times, and driving thru all the lower 48 states. It is always on in my Syntor x9000 when driving my vehicle.
In talking about it with a few Chapter Directors over the last couple years, there are some people that think they should do away with the nationwide freq.
I think that would be foolish.
If you have a nationwide allocation keep it.
I would bet that the freq gets used as mentioned above when assets come in to a large disaster area from other chapters.
The local chapter here threw out a pretty good pile of perfectly good P200' and MT1000 handhelds, and some MAXTRACS.
That was a mistake.
Just me, but I think they should use it more.

INDY72

Monitoring since 1982, using radios since 1991.
Premium Subscriber