Got a pro651

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sleepytired

Hello there,

I bought this the other day and have been pushing the buttons on it and just overall reading the manual and getting used to the buttons and all the minor commands it has.

I am very new to this and I would like to be able to listen in on the EMTS and the like. But I can't for the life of me figure out how to get it to pick up any radio chatter aside from the weather.

I know Reno has a trunking system but as I stated before. I cannot seem to get it to scan anything but the weather channel.

Help.

R

retiredmich

Did you program any Departments & Frequency's in your radio ? I also notice that Reno is Analog.

Sleepytired

I have programmed in washoe, with the frequency found on this site. Have also programmed in rfd.
I thought washoe was trunking, not analog. Also, all the frequencies for Reno haven't come in at all. None actually have come in save for weather service.

R

retiredmich

Was looking through the Washoe Co, & it looks like they are Simulcast. When you programed the frequency's did you also program in the TG ID # ?

sigint1

Was: joking
I have programmed in washoe, with the frequency found on this site. Have also programmed in rfd.
I thought washoe was trunking, not analog. Also, all the frequencies for Reno haven't come in at all. None actually have come in save for weather service.[/QUOT

The Washoe county is a analog trunked EDACS system - it will be migrating to a P25 Digital trunked system over the next few years but if your PRO 651 is a trunk tracking scanner you can monitor the system at this time - All major agencies in the Reno Metro Area are on this system - City of Reno, City of Sparks, Nevada Highway Patrol, Washoe County, Reno Tahoe International Airport, UNR Police as well as others.