Lyon County, Nevada

Status
Not open for further replies.

willstuder

So I am new to Nevada. I am a former police officer and a HAM from the midwest. I have a couple of feeds which I have up. I live in Lyon County and I am curious if there are any other listeners who can tell me what the Lyon Co. SO Prefixes mean? The following is a list of the letters I have heard and simply my guesses at what they are.

F: Fernley
D: Dayton
W: Watch Commander
N: Narcotics
I: Investigations
R: Reservation?

Again they are just guesses but some seem pretty accurate. I have to say as a former LEO and a current HAM I'm relatively impressed with Lyon Co. SO. I hear the usual grumblings around town as with any local PD or SO, but I think they conduct themselves pretty professionally.

Hooligan

As you know, Lyon County is pretty small & relatively remote, so it's no surprise that no-one here has been knowledgeable enough or willing to help you out with the callsigns.

But I'm guessing you're applying big-area LE mentality to Lyon area callsigns -- for example, thinking William might be Watch Commander. With a population of about 50,000 people & a relatively low population density, how many LE units do you think Lyon has out & about at any one-time, to need a Watch Commander unit/callsign?! I'm guessing it's more likely a senior deputy or Sgt that'd be thought of as a Patrol Supervisor, unless their sheriff is a former city-slicker who spent a couple decades with a massive agency like LAPD or NYPD and brought-over some of that big-city policing tactics, training & procedures.

In some of the rural communities I have experience with, things are usually quiet enough that a variety of organizations (county roads, Fire, SO...) share one main dispatch/ops repeater, but then have other channels to use for extended comms & special events. That sort of thing may explain why you're hearing a good variety of callsigns.