Scanner for Manchester,NH

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roarinbear

Looking to buy a new scanner for Manchester, NH. Police, & Fire. From what info. I've gathered they use EDACS std. Please confirm. Looking at handheld or table top. Best bang for the Buck. I think I need Trunk Tracker. I currently have a BC80XLT, wanting to upgrade. Would BC246T do the job. What are my other options. Thanks, Bruce

Roarinbear

Thanks for the info. I'm new at this. Should I be looking at another brand. or differant model. I don't want to buy a scanner that is going to be obsolete shortly, or limit my use.

You need to consider a digital scanner like the new Uniden 396 or the Radio Shack PRO 96 for New Hampshire. Look at the Uniden and Radio Shack forums on this site to read up on them.

All of your sheriff departments in NH and the State Police are using conventional Digital radios. Most of the towns are going conventional digital too or are there already. Places like Nashua use trunked digital.

Junior08

Premium Subscriber
Most definitely!!!

You are surrounded by APCO-25 Digital in your location. For the available scanners capable of monitoring APCO, your choices are;

Uniden- BC 296 handheld/796 Base
Uniden- BC396T Handheld

GRE- Pro 96 Handheld/2096 Base

Those are the best available for APCO currently. Keep in mind any 800MHz rebanding to come along sometime next year, but it probably won't affect you too much in NH, there's not a lot in your area. EDACS will NOT be affected by rebanding. Search the forums here for rebanding information. Do your homework, and choose what suits YOU!

ronhl

scanner for Manchester NH

hi Bruce,

I live in Manchester and you really need to have a digital scanner like the ones mentioned.
Most towns including yours are using Apco-25,also the State Police.