What the heck happened to Burlington County?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jbitzer

I noticed that as of 6/12/11 the Burlington County Police/Fire/EMS system in NJ has been completely revamped. The number of talkgroups went from 60 something to 201! It wouldn't be a bad thing if I had a newer digital scanner that could accommodate a large system like this but I am working with a BC796D with 100 TG per bank and need to use 3 entire banks to fit the entire system in.

I'm still learning with this scanner and have probably not even touched some of the units capabilities but can somebody tell me (and please don't laugh if this is a stupid question) if the TGID's have to correspond with the frequencies in the same bank? In other words, if I put the frequencies in bank 3, can I start entering the TGID's in the first bank if there is available space? Not sure if once it hits an active frequency, it will start scanning all TGID no matter what bank it's in.

Anyone have any ideas on how to best monitor this system without taking up 3 banks to do it with this scanner?

Thanks!

W2GLD

Premium Subscriber
The system was updated with all talkgroups that actually have existed for sometime and know one had taken the time to update. There are still more to be added; however, keep in mind that not all of these are active 100% of the time. I would make a group for each zone (i.e. North, North-East, North-West, etc.) and then one just for the the countywide items you are interested in. With the BC796, that's going to work out best for you.

These updates were completed because they should have been a long time ago, but now with the introduction of scanners such as the Uniden Home Patrol and GRE PSR-800, updates now become more critical than ever.

Keep an eye out as more are coming in the next couple of weeks for Camden, Burlington, Gloucester, Salem, Cumberland, Atlantic, Philadelphia, Montgomery County, Bucks, etc.

Happy scanning!

Jerry - W2GLD

DJ88