NJSP help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Awz1287

I'm new to programing digital scanners and trunking in general. I just received a BCD436HP, scanner my last scanner was an old radio shack scanner that was about 10 years old and just finally stopped working (not bad for lasting that long with almost daily use). That one I never used the computer to program just manually entered frequencies.

I am trying to program the NJ State Police into a favorites list but I am not picking up an activity. I have tried turning off all other lists and just keeping the NJSP list on and after 2 hours nothing came up. What am I doing wrong?

Here is how I programed the list.
1. created a new favorites list titled NJSP
2. went to database USA>NJ>Monmouth>Statewide>New Jersey State Police.
3. added the whole New Jersey State Police section to my NJSP favorites list.
4. uploaded the list to the scanner with the "Write to scanner" tab

Was this the right process? Did I miss something? Is there a setting or something I have to adjust on the scanner itself?

I already tried turning on all service types that I could, some had hash marks and could not be turned on or off. (not sure why) and I also tried increasing my range to max in the locations menu.

Sybex7254

Sounds like you did everything correctly. Any signal bars when the scanner is scanning the NJSP Favorite list? If not then you make not be close enough to receive the control channel. Take a drive towards one of the closest sites and see if that changes anything.

godskidz

I had the same problem when in FL last year and the problem was it wasn't programmed right with the right frequencies because of the rebanding. stage. I fellow on here explained how to do it.
Good Luck.

Awz1287