New user - some questions and looking for a scanner

Status
Not open for further replies.

AnPed

Hi guys! I'm completely new to the 'scanning hobby'. I did a Google search for 'scanner forum' and this is the first that came out. The site seemed quite populated so I have decided to come here and ask my questions. Hope you guys don't mind.

I live in Los Angeles, CA and the main purpose of me buying a scanner is to listen to live air traffic control from Los Angeles International Airport. Normally, I would go to liveatc.net and listen from there but the feed has been down for more than 2 weeks now. Maybe, if possible or allowed, I want to be able to listen to the local police/fire department dispatch, whatever its supposed to be called. Finally, the last thing I would also use it for is to setup a feed at liveatc.net. Those are the only things I'm going to be doing with a scanner. All this for $150 max possible?

I saw a feed setup picture from the guy that hosts the LAX feed and he had antenna outside his home. Will a scanner require this? I don't know if its possible considering I live in an apartment.

Topic in question is here:

KLAX feed Set up pics: part deux | LiveATC.net

Thanks in advance.

scanner99

Premium Subscriber
I am also located in LA what is the exact city you are in. With that information i can tell you in detail about what you what you will be able to hear. First with just a plain analog scanner which you can find on the internet for about 100 bucks you could listen to air traffic control. All the airport stuff even the Maintenance at the airport. Airport police is easy to pick up. You will also be able to listen to LAFD LACFD LASO. LAPD is not able to be listen to without a digital scanner. If you ever need any help with the scanner in the future just send me a PM and i can help you. I am located in the WEST LA area. What city are you in?

AnPed

I live in the Wilshire area; also known as Koreatown. About a 10 min. drive east on the 10 freeway