Brand new member seeking helpful advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone. First post here after reading through the Scanning 101 FAQ and I'm impressed at the wealth of knowledge available. It's been a busy week at work so I haven't had time to read through everything yet but plan to tackle what I can in the weeks ahead. I'm completely new to handheld radios (I had a RadioShack scanner in high school but don't remember much from that time) but as far as hobbies go, I'm really into flashlights. That's how I stumbled upon this site actually. I was in the process of assembling a B.O.B (bug-out bag) or a emergency preparedness kit or whatever you want to call it. Got the first aid, knives, flashlights, spare clothes, H2O, food, lots of tools, etc. But I was missing a portable radio. I wasn't really sure what I was after at the time (and still am a bit lost) but I think I've got a better understanding of what I'm after to some extent now. First I sought out an Oregon Scientific weather radio with S.A.M.E. capabilitites but I wanted something with more features. So I posted a thread at candlepowerforums asking for handheld radio advice only to get very few replies; apparently the hobbies of flashlights and amateur radio don't intertwine too much.

Anyway, here's what I'm after and I appreciate any advice given. I'd like a small handheld radio to put in my B.O.B. with the following attributes:

- I'd like to be able to monitor emergency frequencies/channels for weather alerts (is this S.A.M.E. or NOAA??)
- I'd like to be able to run on primary cells and lithium-ion rechargeables both; AA's or CR123's are most preferable to me
- I'd like to be able to transmit as well as receive. For example, say I'm trapped in my attic among the flooded areas during Hurricane Katrina; it would be nice to transmit a signal to the proper authorities, either vocally or audible tone or whatever, to alert of my location so my family and myself can be more easily found.