help with wire antenna

Status
Not open for further replies.

joohn6

Hello everyone

I have been listening to shortwave for about 6 months now, and I love it. I had the Grundig G8, the upgraded to the Grundig 750. I am having trouble hooking up the wire antenna. I don't have a cold water pipe I can connect too or a radiator. I live in a the suburbs/rural area. (There are a couple on neighborhoods around me and 2 schools. I live on 4 acres with tree everywhere.
When I connect the wire to the grundig on the live (red) side I usally just lay the ground wire on the ground, but this not help with getting better signals. The live wire is about 30 feet by a window and the ground is about 30 feet. Do I just need a longer wire? I have done searching online and have not found much. If there is a good link please post.
Thanks

a29zuk

Pound a ground rod or copper pipe(at least 4') into the ground just outside of your structure where your live(antenna) wire exits the structure. Hook the ground wire to that. Get the antenna wire up 10' to 30' off of the ground and run it out to one of your trees. Length wise 30' should be long enough to get a good signal but a longer wire wouldn't hurt unless you live near a AM broadcast station.

Welcome to the website,

Jim

ridgescan

Make a "dipole" antenna. You can make one that's not too long that it would overload your radio.