scanner I can use in office building for aero and fire/police

Status
Not open for further replies.

modrachlan

I am relatively new to scanning- I have been experimenting with SDR and am really starting to enjoy it. I'd like a standalone radio to use in my office- office policy is we can't plug things into the PCs for security reasons. My office is located near an airport, so I thought it would be fun to be able to listen to aero traffic while at work. But I would like to get the local fire and police as well, which to my knowledge is not trunked (Jefferson City, Missouri, 65109, USA) and hear the storm spotters too.

The scanner would need to be sensitive, I am guessing, since there is no way to an antenna outside, but I am open to the idea of a discreet external antenna at the top of my cube if that would help. We are on the 3rd floor, and the airport is low relative to us, so I am guessing antenna height is not the main limiting issue anyway.

Currently I'm considering a Radio Shack Pro-84 because of recommendations I've seen elsewhere here. It seems to have the bands I need. But will it be sensitive enough for aero about two miles from the airport inside a concrete-rebar building?

Can someone give me a shove in the right direction? I would appreciate it.

Last edited:

QDP2012

As far as the radio-signal blocking properties of your building is concerned, to get a general-idea you could get a basic AM/FM radio and put it in the place where you want the scanner to sit, and find out if you can receive your local FM radio station's signals. If the signals are strong, you're likely to hear other transmitters in the area, too. If the signals are scratchy, then you might want to find a friend who has a scanner you can borrow to bring in for a day or even on a lunch-break, just to test specifically the agencies you wish to monitor.

Hope this helps,

DickH

If you are near a window or if there are lots of windows it should work much fairly well.

modrachlan