Help scanning FRS and GMRS?

Status
Not open for further replies.

spook46

Hello all! First and foremost I am a rookie to RR so take it easy on me! Im trying to scan FRS and GMRS frequencies. I know there are only a hand full of requencies that are used. I'm gonna tell you the truth why I need to listen. I am in law enforcement and believe it or not criminals use FRS frequencies. We are begining to use scanners on a personal level to help give us a heads up on activity. The agency provides no equipment so all this is coming out of our own pocket. We look at is as just another tool to aid in the identification of criminal loations and activities. As of now I am running a Radio Shack Pro-95 and just got my hands on an old pro-404. Im currently using the RS 800mhz antenna. I hear that the antenna makes all the difference. A co worker of mine has the exact same setup only he is using a Pro-164. He can listen to 462.600 crystal clear and I cant hear at all on my pro-95. My question is can anymone inform me of a set up that I can get that will catch all the FRs frequencies with out any problems. I want to have a setup where I dont have to worry if this scanner or antenna will work. We work in rugged terrain alot of brush and hilly areas. If anyone can point me in the right direction it would make a world of difference. Thanks and I apologize for the long thread!

nanZor

The antenna will make a difference. You'll find many threads about an ops personal preference. You may want to start with the popular Diamond RH77CA, which does well at UHF where your FRS and GMRS activity is. It will cover other bands, and there are more antenna threads here than you can shake a stick at, but the Diamond would be a great start.