Do I need a Digital Scanner

Status
Not open for further replies.

ghostech

Hello and Good Day!
Yes, I am new to Radio Reference.com and radio communication.

I work at the El Paso Times and have been advised to monitor the police scanner, to be on the look out for any news worthy material. Thought the Times has a couple of police scanners, the one at the office is old and does not work all the time.

I have read some of the threads and notice that here in El Paso Texas, the city police uses a digital band
El Paso Project 25 Regional Communications System Trunking System, El Paso, Texas - Scanner Frequencies

I am looking to purchase portable scanner for me to use at the office, home, and car. All I'm looking for is to listen if there was any kind of major accident on the road, fire or emergency services needed.

I was aiming to getting the Pro 107 or Pro 97, but will those models allow me to hear about the factory fire, or 3 car pile up on the freeway, since the EPPD uses P-25.

Thanks for your help...I appreciate your time.

flythunderbird

Feed Provider
I am looking to purchase portable scanner for me to use at the office, home, and car. All I'm looking for is to listen if there was any kind of major accident on the road, fire or emergency services needed.

I was aiming to getting the Pro 107 or Pro 97, but will those models allow me to hear about the factory fire, or 3 car pile up on the freeway, since the EPPD uses P-25.

Thanks for your help...I appreciate your time.

Hello, and welcome!

The 107 and 97 will not handle P25. You'll need to pick up a Pro-106 or its cousin, the GRE PSR-500, to receive P25. The Uniden Bearcat 396XT handheld scanner will also receive P25. I have a Pro-106 and really like it.

Pro-106 - The RadioReference Wiki

PSR-500 - The RadioReference Wiki

BCD396XT - The RadioReference Wiki