cedar rapids,Iowa bcd396xt help

Status
Not open for further replies.

dgate

Premium Subscriber
I bought this scanner from radio shack and cant figure anything out. I need someone to school me on how or ill pay someone to do it for me. Im lost!!!!!!! Im new at this and tried to program it over 10 times only to get NOTHING. Im ready to blow it up or throw it as far as I can. Fustrated? yes !! I listend to my pro106 all the time and after reading all the reviews on the bcd396xt I bought one. (man was that a mistake for a newbi) I don't even know how to connect it to the pc. I tried to buy a NULL modem locally at radio shack and they told me they don't sell OUTDATED equip. PLEASE Someone HEEELLLPPP

tilt404

I would suggest you get the Uniden USB1 cable for it or if your computer has a serial port use that cable then download Freescan.

https://sites.google.com/site/sixspotsoftware/products/freescan

Then if you're a member here, you can just log into RR through the software by putting in your user name and password and it will connect to RR and program it for you with what you select from RR. I wouldn't suggest programming it by hand since you will probably just get more frustrated.

ofd8001

Premium Subscriber
There are several excellent videos on Youtube about programming a 396XT scanner that might be informative.

programming a uniden 396XT - YouTube

These scanners can be a little initimidating at first. With some time, practice and patience, I'm sure you will get the hang of it.

Most importantly, remember that there is nothing you can do to wreck the scanner via programming. You can always do a reset and get back to square one. Just hang in there and keep the faith - most of us had similar challenges in the beginning.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Hi dgate- first thing is to breathe...wax on, wax off...wax on, wax off...wax on, wax off....now let's begin