Which radios can program UHF with CC?

Status
Not open for further replies.

singh123

Hi,

I am very new to ham operations.

Currently, I only scan and am working on getting my license.

I want to scan a certain frequency but my current VHF/UHF is only getting static because (I am presuming now) the frequency is using a squelch tone that is not supported by my current handheld.

The frequency is 452.36250 and they also have their CC tone on radioreference.

I am currently using a Baofeng UV-B6 and planning on buying a cheap DMR off eBay, TYT MD-380 UHF or Revetis RT3 UHF.

My question is, will either of those radios be able to listen in on that frequency with a CC?

Some newbie questions, I see DMRs have alot more features and functions, can my handheld be blocked from the frequency? Like if the control person notices an "unauthorized" unit on their frequency, can they stop me from listening in?

I don't want to waste USD $120-$200 on a new unit where as I already have the UV-B6, so anything else I should know before buying ?

N8IAA

Hi,

I want to scan a certain frequency but my current VHF/UHF is only getting static because (I am presuming now) the frequency is using a squelch tone that is not supported by my current handheld.

I am currently using a Baofeng UV-B6 and planning on buying a cheap DMR off eBay, TYT MD-380 UHF or Revetis RT3 UHF.

My question is, will either of those radios be able to listen in on that frequency with a CC?

Some newbie questions, I see DMRs have alot more features and functions, can my handheld be blocked from the frequency? Like if the control person notices an "unauthorized" unit on their frequency, can they stop me from listening in?

I don't want to waste USD $120-$200 on a new unit where as I already have the UV-B6, so anything else I should know before buying ?

Welcome. First, are you in the US? If not. let us know where you are located.