My Uniden BC898T is getting bad reception

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marauder

Dazed and Confused
So I want to get a bigger or outdoor antenna for it. Can anyone get me started on how easy it is / what kind of antenna I need?

Marauder

Dazed and Confused
Bad reception of what??
Larry

I am a noob with all of this so please excuse my ignorance but I just cant pick up some of my local police clearly, sometimes static , sometimes it cuts in and out and sometimes im just not getting convos back and forth.

AA6IO

Premium Subscriber
Where are you located? No one can help unless we know your location. Scanning activity, reception, and requirements vary widely with location. Regards

Marauder

Dazed and Confused
Where are you located? No one can help unless we know your location. Scanning activity, reception, and requirements vary widely with location. Regards

Hyde park ny Dutchess County Trunked Ed system From the tower across the river and the mount beacon tower

bigcam406

how was it receiving that system before? the reason why i ask is that i own a 898T as well,and ive noticed over the years that its sensitivity has decreased. ive tried different antennas and nothing really worked.i just use it for a local trunked system,which has a very strong control channel.i just checked out your areas systems on the database.you shouldnt have any issues receiving that system.what antenna are you using now? and how long have you owned the 898T?

Last edited:

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
A decrease in your reception can be caused by a great many things- crappy coax to an outdoor antenna (should be replaced at least every couple of years), desense, a broken connection somewhere, etc. So while it's possible, just saying that reception has decreased due to something in the scanner is hardly conclusive.