I'm looking for some suggestions on buying my first scanner

Status
Not open for further replies.

kc0bus

Hi,
I'm thinking of possibly getting my first scanner and could use some suggestions. I'd like one that is simple and easy to use since I'm a beginner. I might like one that is easy to program by a PC and a USB cable and some software. I also need it to not be deaf on the following bands because these are the main bands I'll be listening on:
-Citizens Band AM (CB radio band, and SSB would be nice too if possible)
-2-meters (146MHz) FM VHF ham band
-70-centimeters (440MHz) FM UHF ham band
-all the usual police frequencies
Thanks

Last edited:

sibbley

Premium Subscriber
Guess I'd recommend the BC125AT. It does well on Public Safety VHF/UHF so I imagine it would do well on the HAM bands. Maybe some others could chime in about CB as I never listen to CB. It's pretty easy programming via PC or by keypad. I would also recommend getting a RH77CA antenna. The stock duck isn't too awful, but in my case the RH77 and the 125AT work well together.

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Guess I'd recommend the BC125AT. It does well on Public Safety VHF/UHF so I imagine it would do well on the HAM bands. Maybe some others could chime in about CB as I never listen to CB. It's pretty easy programming via PC or by keypad. I would also recommend getting a RH77CA antenna. The stock duck isn't too awful, but in my case the RH77 and the 125AT work well together.
The BC125AT should work well on the ham bands. The RH77CA antenna would be better for CB than the stock, but the lack of a large enough antenna makes CB frequencies hit or miss on a handheld scanner. If using it in, say, your vehicle, you'd likely hear strong & close signals, but not the weaker or more distant ones. It would not, however, do SSB.

However, the BC125AT would not be of much help for the police frequencies in the OP's area.
Hi,