Newbie questions on Homepatrol series.

Status
Not open for further replies.

russ498

I am a retired police officer, and would now like to hear you the radio from the other end. I was looking at the home patrol series. I know next to nothing about radios or this technology.

What is the difference between the home patrol 1 and home patrol 2? The one feature they show is that the scanner can change frequencies as you change locations. I see that there is an add on cable package to accomplish this. Does this require a standalone GPS, or can it be tied into my car's GPS? If it requires a standalone GPS, what is the cheapest one that would work.

Thanks so much for the assistance.

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
I am a retired police officer, and would now like to hear you the radio from the other end. I was looking at the home patrol series. I know next to nothing about radios or this technology.

What is the difference between the home patrol 1 and home patrol 2? The one feature they show is that the scanner can change frequencies as you change locations. I see that there is an add on cable package to accomplish this. Does this require a standalone GPS, or can it be tied into my car's GPS? If it requires a standalone GPS, what is the cheapest one that would work.

Thanks so much for the assistance.
The primary difference between the HP-1 & HP-2 is that the HP-2 can decode and track conversations on a P25 Phase II trunked system. That's the latest P25 system in use, and a number of agencies are migrating to that when upgrading. While the HP-1 will also decode P25 digital, it can only track P25 Phase I trunked systems. Both scanners can handle the older analog, as well as digital (P25) conventional (non-trunked) channels. The HP-1 has a silver front, and the HP-2 has a black faceplate. Other than that, operation of the two scanners is the same. Both have a large, multi-colored, touch display, which by far is the best of any of the current available scanners.