Status
Not open for further replies.

Kuhlm1

Premium Subscriber
Hey guys,

I'm a new member and a novice(idiot) too this. I have BC355N but I had had someone set it up for me. I was told that with the changes I will not be able to pick up as much. So I went and bought BCD536HP. I should be getting it Wednesday. I'm looking to make this a mobile unit in my truck along with my cb. So that being said I'm looking to try to set this new one up solo. I used to use a cb antenna for my last scanner and it seemed ok... Just looking for some beginners tips so I can utilize my purchase. Again I'm a newbie so pretty much every question I have is probably common sense.

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Don't use a CB antenna for the scanner. It will work like crap compared to an antenna tuned to the band(s)you are scanning.

Kuhlm1

Premium Subscriber
Ok what would be a good antenna to use for a vehicle? I've seen a couple on Amazon and eBay. I feel like there should be a better one then the basic one that came with my first scanner.

Thanks for the info.

marksmith

An external antenna can help, but it depends what you listen to, and how you mount scanner in vehicle whether it is a significant improvement.

The standard antenna would be a huge improvement over a CB antenna.

536/436/ws1095/996p2/996xt/325p2/396xt/psr800/396t/HP-1/HP-2 & others

Kuhlm1

Premium Subscriber
Most antennas with decent reviews I find are magnet mount ones. I'm looking for something window mount. I will have 2 antennas for my CB mounted to my toolbox on the bed of my truck. I'm hoping that a window mount at the windshield behind the review mirror would provide the least interference??

chief21

Premium Subscriber
Summer - Western NC; Winter - Tampa Bay FL