New, Hello, and Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

sundogkim

Hi. I'm totally new to shortwave radio and totally lost. I've bought SW radios in the past and never could figure them out. Today someone bought me the RadioShack Compact Portable AM/FM Shortwave Radio and it seems to be in MHz. All I know is I can never hear a thing but static. Every single radio I've gotten, the same thing happens. Am I doing something wrong? Do I live too near to interference? I've looked at tutorials but they're radio specific usually and this one seems hard to figure out - the user manual is no help at all. I'll scan the stations but other than going a half step at a time, there's just nothing going on. Any help is appreciated. :) Kim PS the URL is https://www.radioshack.com/products/radioshack-compact-portable-am-fm-shortwave-radio

edweirdFL

WWV operates time stations in Colorado and Hawaii that broadcast using AM mode on Shortwave frequencies. Try tuning into 2.500, 5.000, 10.000, 15.000, 20.000, and 25.000 MHz

You almost certainly will hear a signal on at least one of those with a ticking sound, a beep every minute, and occasional time announcements. The first two freqs will probably only work at night for you. The last two will probably only work during the day for you.

It's an easy first step.

majoco

Stirrer