The fear of getting back in

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peerlessk

I’ve been lurking in the shadows since 2013 . I figure it’s time to break silence . I have and don’t laugh please a bct8 scanner that because of digital I’m looking to upgrade . One I’m looking @ is the BCD536HP. The price and it becoming a door stop and being blocked out in the future makes me Leary of the purchase . I like to monitor the police in my area and have hope to do so in the future . Anyone shed some light on the digital era ? Are we going dark ? And would the BCD536HP be a good start in my digital journey ? I apologize if I’m posting this in the wrong section

Unforgiven_AF

I was just like you a few weeks ago, coming from old tech and looking to listen again. While I'm still a noob, and have way more to learn to really understand everything, I purchased the 536 and have had it for a little less than a week. From what I have read (check the wiki's and read a lot of threads) the BCD536HP is the top of the line for now. New stuff will come out, but departments would also need to buy new equipment, figure out interoperability (sp?), and turn it on. The signals we are listening to will be around for a long time.

I'll be honest, jumping from my old Radio Shack punch in a code and listen to the 536 was, and is intimidating. I try to learn one new feature or function a day. I more or less am listening to what I wanted to when I decided to get back into it. The good thing is I'm probably using 1% of the scanners ability to do that, so I have a world to grow in. :)

Peerlessk

Insightful response . My thinking that uniden still has this model and thus just released some new software for it or update makes me feel better that it will be supported for a good while or should be . Thanks for the response

TailGator911

Silent Key/KF4ANC