RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners, Receivers and Related Equipment Forums > New User / Getting Started Forum


New User / Getting Started Forum - The place for new users to discuss how to get started, and generally feel safe from the rest of the rabid technical community. If you just got your first scanner, this forum is for you. Please note: Posts are only moved from this forum by OP's request only.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2018, 12:20 PM
aircatheavy's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 33,000 ft
Posts: 27
Default Trying to connect BC246T to Win10 PC - no luck

Hello,
I have a BC246T and want to use FreeScan to program it.

Problem is, I can't get it to work with ANY of my PC's

Could be I'm on a version that is too old? 2.10 (current is 2.60)

But if I cannot get ot to work with a USB cable, how will I ever be able to update the firmware or use FreeScan with it?

I've tried installing just about every version of Prolific I could get my hands on includeing ONE claiming to be a 64 bit version 3.2.2 (didn't work either)

In fact, I have not yet been able to get the Prolific driver to even show up in the device manager.

Maybe I have a bad cable? (It's older, like 10 years old maybe 12 years old even)

Do I have to have the correct USB cable just to even get the Prolific driver to show up inthe device manager?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2018, 12:23 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: New York City, NY
Posts: 207
Default

Contact manufacturer. get most recent software. Get the proper drivers for your usb card.
It happens. Welcome to the world of Windows.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2018, 12:53 PM
iMONITOR's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: MACOMB, MI.
Posts: 2,018
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aircatheavy View Post
In fact, I have not yet been able to get the Prolific driver to even show up in the device manager.
UNIDEN USB-1 Drivers
USB-1Drivers < UnidenMan4 < TWiki
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2018, 1:17 PM
hiegtx's Avatar
Mentor
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 5,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aircatheavy View Post
Hello,
I have a BC246T and want to use FreeScan to program it.

Problem is, I can't get it to work with ANY of my PC's

Could be I'm on a version that is too old? 2.10 (current is 2.60)

But if I cannot get ot to work with a USB cable, how will I ever be able to update the firmware or use FreeScan with it?

I've tried installing just about every version of Prolific I could get my hands on includeing ONE claiming to be a 64 bit version 3.2.2 (didn't work either)

In fact, I have not yet been able to get the Prolific driver to even show up in the device manager.

Maybe I have a bad cable? (It's older, like 10 years old maybe 12 years old even)

Do I have to have the correct USB cable just to even get the Prolific driver to show up inthe device manager?

Thanks
Which USB cable are you using? Uniden's USB-1, or one that you got off eBay or perhaps Amazon.

The original Uniden USB-1 cable had problems with WIndows 10 & drivers. The current model supposedly corrects that.

If you bought your cable from eBay, there have been sellers on the site that advertise that their cable is the same as Uniden's, but they really are not. They have the correct end on the cable, to connect to the scanner, but they lack the internal chip that converts the USB into a serial port, which is what the 246T requires.

Read thru this past thread, and see if this sounds like the cable you received.
https://forums.radioreference.com/un...howing-up.html

Also take a look at this Wiki page.
Connecting scanners via USB - The RadioReference Wiki
__________________
Steve
SDS100-436HP (2)-536HP-TRX-1-325P2-among others
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2018, 1:25 PM
a29zuk's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 534
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iMONITOR View Post
+1
Most likely missing Uniden USB driver. Then use auto detect in Freescan.

Jim
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2018, 1:31 PM
buddrousa's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NW Tenn
Posts: 4,396
Default

That is strange I am running 4 different Win 10 PRO 64 PC's and the original Uniden Cables and all 4 PC's work just fine with the Uniden Drivers BCT15 BCT15X BCT346XT
__________________
Support your local FIRE & EMS. PRO197-18-107-668:PSR-410 X2: BC8500XLT 785d BCD436HP BCD536HPx3 BCT346 BCD996P2 x3 BCT15x2 BCT15X2 TRX-1 TRX-2 EFJ51SL MTX8250 Tk280 TK2180 MD380x4 NX5300 NX5200 Buddy
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2018, 2:08 PM
Wiki Admin Emeritus
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bowie, Md.
Posts: 20,993
Default

Also be sure to check to see if the port on the 246 is set up - you must do this manually, it's not done automatically. There's an article in the Freescan user guide on this very topic...

Freescan - Connecting Scanner to PC - The RadioReference Wiki

Mike
__________________
links editor, Utility Monitoring Central
HF Forum moderator, RadioReference
Friends don't let friends buy Scancat Lite Plus!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2018, 3:31 PM
aircatheavy's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 33,000 ft
Posts: 27
Default

Thanks for all the help guys.

I've tried all the drivers recommended on this page as well as a few others such as one specifically for 64 bit systems and rechecked the Transfer settings, however, several things are always consistent.....

USB Device not recognized
and
FreeScan could not establish communication with the scanner

and in DeviceManager....
When I plug the Scanner in with the USB cable, in addition to the USB Device Not Recognized Error, I get an Unknown Device under Universal Serial Bus Controllers that complains that Device Descriptor Request Failed

I haven't used the scanner for several years but IIRC, it worked last time I used it but it was on a Windows Vista PC

Last edited by aircatheavy; 05-28-2018 at 3:43 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2018, 3:45 PM
aircatheavy's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 33,000 ft
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiegtx View Post
Which USB cable are you using? Uniden's USB-1, or one that you got off eBay or perhaps Amazon.

The original Uniden USB-1 cable had problems with WIndows 10 & drivers. The current model supposedly corrects that.
I've had this cable so long, I don't recall where I got it.
Perhaps I need a newer version cable?

If so, from whom should I purchase it to ensure I get an authentic cable?

Anyone familiar with ebay seller bluemax49ers ?
https://www.ebay.com/itm/161294798687?ul_noapp=true

Last edited by aircatheavy; 05-28-2018 at 4:10 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2018, 4:39 PM
aircatheavy's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 33,000 ft
Posts: 27
Default

Wow..it's going to cost $40.00 to get this simple cable from ScannerMaster.com

If any of that serves to support this forum, money WELL spent....otherwise I have to look for a less expensive alternative.

Last edited by aircatheavy; 05-28-2018 at 5:03 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2018, 7:29 PM
hiegtx's Avatar
Mentor
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 5,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aircatheavy View Post
Wow..it's going to cost $40.00 to get this simple cable from ScannerMaster.com

If any of that serves to support this forum, money WELL spent....otherwise I have to look for a less expensive alternative.
$27 and change on Amazon for the USB-1 cable.
__________________
Steve
SDS100-436HP (2)-536HP-TRX-1-325P2-among others
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2018, 9:16 PM
iMONITOR's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: MACOMB, MI.
Posts: 2,018
Default

Do you have a DB-9 RS-232 serial port on your computer? If so, do you have the RS-232 serial cable for the scanner? That's what it was originally designed to use. No driver software required, it just works.

I never understood why the PC industry almost did away with the serial port. Today's high-end PC's still have them. I use mine all the time for all kinds of things.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2018, 7:39 AM
aircatheavy's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 33,000 ft
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iMONITOR View Post
Do you have a DB-9 RS-232 serial port on your computer? If so, do you have the RS-232 serial cable for the scanner? That's what it was originally designed to use. No driver software required, it just works.

I never understood why the PC industry almost did away with the serial port. Today's high-end PC's still have them. I use mine all the time for all kinds of things.
I guess the current thinking is that USB made RS-232 serial ports unnecessary. But I agree. There are situations where one would be great to have. None of my newer PC's have them. I think you can purchase an add on board to install one.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2018, 7:41 AM
aircatheavy's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 33,000 ft
Posts: 27
Default

I went ahead and purchased a new data cable off of ebay and it instantly worked. So relieved.

Apparently as mentioned many times, the OLDER cables may not work with the latest Windows Operating systems.

Thanks to all who assisted.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2018, 7:44 AM
iMONITOR's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: MACOMB, MI.
Posts: 2,018
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aircatheavy View Post
I went ahead and purchased a new data cable off of ebay and it instantly worked. So relieved.

Apparently as mentioned many times, the OLDER cables may not work with the latest Windows Operating systems.

Thanks to all who assisted.

Excellent! If you ever do have a need for a serial port on your desktop PC and you have an available open expansion slot, Ebay has tons of them at very reasonable prices.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions