RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners, Receivers and Related Equipment Forums > New User / Getting Started Forum


New User / Getting Started Forum - The place for new users to discuss how to get started, and generally feel safe from the rest of the rabid technical community. If you just got your first scanner, this forum is for you. Please note: Posts are only moved from this forum by OP's request only.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2018, 11:54 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 12
Default A question on Echolink for Android capability....

I may be thinking wrong, and this is why I have come to ask.

I have the app on my phone and am authorized... so I can log in.

What I TRIED is.... I found a local repeater that shows up in the Station List (as a -L ). I connect to it via the Echolink app. (note: with my HT on next to me I can hear my connection being announced on the repeater, as WELL AS, echolink says that it is connected.)

When any traffic comes in on the repeater.... I can HEAR it on my HT.... but don't hear a thing on the phone. Never shows RX.

I know it is me.... but what am I missing here? How can one conduct a QSO if you can't hear anything on the phone when it is going out on the repeater - on the air?

I was thinking that I could use Echolink on my phone to just monitor traffic on the repeater at my lunch break but am beginning to guess that I was wrong.

????
Thanks for any advice,
Bob - KG5JAI
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2018, 12:55 PM
ko6jw_2's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Santa Ynez, CA
Posts: 612
Default

Are you connecting via wi-fi or using 4G etc? I have had problems with wi-fi due to routers that don't allow port forwarding which Echolink requires. I have found that if I disable wi-fi on the phone, I can connect. The wi-fi problems often show up on systems at work that won't allow port forwarding due to security concerns.

Echolink is quite fussy. Skype will work, Echlonk won't. Also, check your proxy settings on Echolink. I have sometimes had to experiment with these to get a good (or any) connection.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2018, 7:56 PM
ko6jw_2's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Santa Ynez, CA
Posts: 612
Default

Another thought. Have you tried connecting to Echotest?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2018, 9:40 PM
w8prr's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: West Liberty, Ohio
Posts: 240
Default

I'm sure of all the things suggested, but I have no trouble on wifi with mine. Guess I'm just lucky, because a computer whiz I am not.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-06-2018, 5:20 AM
K4EET's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Severn, Maryland, USA
Posts: 701
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by ko6jw_2 View Post
Another thought. Have you tried connecting to Echotest?
Yes, "ECHOTEST" can be used as often as you like and for as long as needed. In case it does not show up on your list of stations, it can be found at Node 9999.

Let us know how you make out.

73, Dave K4EET
__________________

Retired E911 Police Communications Systems Manager
BC800XLT (1978) and BCD536HP (2015)
NOTE: Also a Motorola Police HT "Scanner" before retirement
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions