Making a new hobby, Tips for growing

Status
Not open for further replies.

GodsCreat0r

Hello everyone, its a pleasure to be here, My name is Thomas and i am new to radios.
Ive been always fascinated by electronics and the intricacies of how they work.
I am a truck driver and a drone pilot and have some experience with how radios work but am not anywhere near where i would like to be,especially when reading what others have to say about the subject.
I just ordered my first scanner a uniden sds100 and bought a rh77ca & remtronix 800mhz antennas.
I am creating this thread to say hello and give a short introduction and to ask for some help.
What i would like is some reference material to get started.
One member wrote ""jonwienke-Set up the SDS-100 to show RSSI values (not bar graph) and you can see the difference between antennas in dBm. With the scanner in a fixed location holding on a site, note the dBm values when each antenna is connected, and compare the difference.""
This sounds like a fun thing to do and is one of the reasons i bought two different antennas.
What are some other cool things i can do to play around and get a hands on learning experience with my new radio? If you have any links for beginners to articles or something noob friendly, or just some quick suggestions on what i can play around with. This would be very exciting and appreciated.

pb_lonny

That is a very expensive and complex radio for somebody new to the hobby to start out with, good luck with it.

KC5AKB

Welcome to the fun .

Lots of stuff still to listen to .
Lots more stuff if you want to talk www.w5yi.org Home also look up the local ham club repeaters
Or just use the info to see what's out there to listen to.
You can even find apps to look up ham repeaters on your phone
You can drop me a email if you like .
Kc5akb@arrl.net
Later,
Ric

K4EET

Chaplain
GodsCreat0r,