Re; a new ProScan server

Status
Not open for further replies.

steve-kc7byp

There a program called ProScan that can be downloaded at https://www.proscan.org . I have been using it to tune into Benton County dispach which also covers the city of Kennewick for a long time because I don't have a scanner that can decode Proj 25 digital service. There was a large wild fire south of town (Kennewick) that burned down 5 houses on the edge of Kennewick. I think one of those burned down houses housed the Benton county server for ProScan. I was tuned in on PronScan on the day of the fire and listening the fire activity. Then server went offline and hasn't been on since. I am thinking of setting up a new server. I am diving into a totally new area of the internet for me. I have an AA degree in electronics and I used to repair 2 way radios, tv's and vcr's. I have been retired for a long time. I still dabble in fixing Windows OS laptops and towers but I am only good down to board level repairs. My electronics is not up to speed to go bellow board level repairs. I could use some help please. I sent the following email bellow to ProScan support.
--------------------------------------------------------
Hi Bob. I would like to know how to setup this kind of link and what kind
of digital scanner and other equipment that I need. Benton/Franklin county
fire dep's plus both sheriff's dep's. And the cities of Richland,
Kennewick, Pasco, West Richland are all on the same project 25 digital
system. Is is my understanding that this a 2 freq setup for each channel
in the radio is used. 1 freq carrys channel codes and the freq carrys the
digital voice.
I have a RTL dongle (RTL2832U) It goes from about 24mhz to about 1.5ghz I
thing. It works fine except I for can't get it to decode Benton County
dispatch. I need a better scanner but I don't know which one to buy. My
best guess is that server for Benton County was in one of those houses that