Wake Cnty and Durham Cnty Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

DougWare

Feed Provider
I spent quite a few years as an EMT. I was pleased that I found the forum posting on the CADvoice system Raleigh uses. I was unaware such technology actually existed (we used old VHF radios, and the only thing keeping us from cross-talking with the next county was the tones used).

However, can anyone explain why Raleigh as multiple dispatches that will simply say "Medic 12, move up to Six Forks Rd station". Five or ten minutes later, I'll hear the same dispatch.

Lastly, can someone explain Durham's "Alpha-Bravo-Charlie-Delta" dispatch system? The best I can tell, it breaks down like this:
Alpha - No lights or siren, go with the flow of traffic, not time sensitive
Bravo - No lights or siren, but try to be a little quick about it
Charlie - Lights & siren
Delta - Emergency, get there absolutely as fast as possible....

We never used that system when I was an EMT...just Code 1, 2 and 3!

Thanks for the info!

scannerpro

I can tell you from a Johnston County Stand point and a few other places I've listened to before and how they put into terms for new EMT's
Alpha & Omega- Code 1
Bravo, Charles,Delta,Echo/Edward-Code 3

The way it works is B to E is for example like a Toothache (Minor) or A Stubbed Toe (Minior) In a Code 3 Responce as you work your way down to like a Delta or Echo thats like a Code Blue or Resp. Distress or like a Shooting or Chest Pains. Hopefully the helps on that aspect for the EMD Codes

WA4MJF