RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > North Carolina Radio Discussion Forum


North Carolina Radio Discussion Forum - Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of North Carolina.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #301 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2013, 6:30 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NORTH CAROLINA
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by murrayustud View Post
Interesting Recon rider, I'm in northern fringe of Raleigh just off us 1, I've tried 5 different scanners, 3 different beams, 3 verticals, a rubber duck, my Austin spectra on my Honda accord and not so much as one transmission although I do get the control channel well. I've ordered a motorola xts3000 and will try that next if that fails I'll just call it not monitorable from my area and throw in the towel, from what I hear no one is happy with the system performance anyway
I completely understand the scanner concept, being an avid scanner person myself. However re-reading murrayustud's post, the XTS3000 is a two-way radio, correct and not a scanner?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #302 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2013, 7:46 AM
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,620
Default

Yes, but you can also passively monitor a system with a commercial radio as well. Not such a hard thing to do with a 4 channel system and an old ASTRO radio.
Reply With Quote
  #303 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2013, 9:43 AM
jaolson101's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 62
Default

So is anyone monitoring this system effectively using a Pro-96? I was in Louisburg Tuesday night and had a strong signal on the control channel, but would only occasionally have the radio stop on LAW1 without any audio. I'm using the set up downloaded for the system from RR.
__________________
Jonathan Olson
Chief of Operations - Wake County (NC) EMS
Reply With Quote
  #304 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2013, 3:27 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Default Scanner Feed

Hey, I know several of you that are near enough to towers are saying that you are having no issues monitoring this system. Are any of you interested in putting a feed up here on Broadcastify? We had 2 feeds prior to the new system but now no one seems to be able to monitor the system that had a feed. I'm assuming others would appreciate it too if anyone was willing to help. (I would if I could but my reception is terrible)
Reply With Quote
  #305 (permalink)  
Old 09-21-2013, 10:20 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 537
Default

10-22

Last edited by NCFire11; 09-21-2013 at 11:48 AM..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #306 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2014, 11:46 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 537
Default

Hi all,

I have been able to successfully scan this system and since people have had trouble scanning it I have put up a feed. Right now I am broadcasting:

Fire Dispatch on Analog(to hear tones)
TAC 10-14 on FC P25
FIREOPS 3-9 on FC P25
EMS OPS 3 on FC P25
County Wide on FC P25

If anyone has any requests for the feed let me know and I will put them up.
Reply With Quote
  #307 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2014, 3:53 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Youngsville, NC
Posts: 36
Default

NCFire11, the old fisherman needs some help understanding Broadcastify. I first loaded it to my computer and it asks me if I want to save the file. What do I then listen too when loaded, the file says 'live' but is it? Also, I loaded the App to my Galaxy 3 phone and it says Franklin County Fire is now playing. Tells me now that it has been streaming for over 30 minutes with 3 listeners but I haven't heard anything.

I'm totally confused if this is working real time or what, the calls I hear on the computer are not on the phone, matter of fact I've heard garbled calls on my scanner but nothing from the computer or my new 'Smarty' phone.

Obviously I have no idea what I'm doing, have been unable to find a tutorial on Broadcastify.

Help! Someone please point me in the right direction or I'm going fishin!!

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #308 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2014, 4:55 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Youngsville, NC
Posts: 36
Default

Update, seems like my Smarty phone is working. Only get Fire but maybe that's all that's broadcasting now. Life is good!!!
Reply With Quote
  #309 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2014, 5:51 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 537
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldFisherman View Post
Update, seems like my Smarty phone is working. Only get Fire but maybe that's all that's broadcasting now. Life is good!!!
Glad you have it working.

Usually there is no more than a 30 second delay between my scanner and my phone. At this time I am only broadcasting the analog simulcasted fire dispatch on 154.145 and TAC 10-14, Fire Ops 3-9 and County Wide on the P25 system. There isn't that much traffic on the fire channels so that's why you aren't hearing much.


My setup allows me to monitor this system very clearly, so I can scan whatever people want me to(I don't listen to my feed, so it really doesn't matter to me.)
Reply With Quote
  #310 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2014, 10:44 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Youngsville, NC
Posts: 36
Default

I'd sure like to get back to the good old days before Harris destroyed most of our listening fun. Would sure be great to get the EMS, Fire and Sheriff together. My being in southwest Franklin County and trying to get LAW 1 (for example) is just about impossible. The only time I do get it is when I drive next to one of the towers and sit which is pretty lousy. Sure appreciate all your efforts!
Reply With Quote
  #311 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2014, 12:22 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 537
Default

with that being said, would you like Fire and EMS to be on analog or Digital P25?
Reply With Quote
  #312 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2014, 1:53 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Youngsville, NC
Posts: 36
Default

Analog is great unless you really get the P25 just as good. Today is 'I have a dream' day, just dreamin how good the 'pre-Harris' days were. Any help you can give would be fantastic and much appreciated. I owe you a case of liquid refreshment for all your help.

The Old Fisherman
Reply With Quote
  #313 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2014, 6:07 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Youngsville, NC
Posts: 36
Default

NCFire11 - THANKS!!!!! After all this time hearing almost nothing for Franklin County my phone is now my favorite scanner. Been listening for the last hour and all is nice and clear on the phone while hearing nothing on my 396XT. I owe you big time, let me know what your favorite beverage is!
Reply With Quote
  #314 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2014, 11:33 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Default Sincere Thanks!

NCFIRE11, I want to sincerely thank you for doing this. It is so nice to have something to listen to when not in the area or right next to a tower. I agree with OldFisherman, it would be nice to have Fire Dispatch, EMS Dispatch, and LAW1/LAW2 if possible but I'm happy just to have anything. IMO, having it on all P25 and not analog would be best because of how they are using the new system but again, I'll take anything. Thank you sincerely again!
Reply With Quote
  #315 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2014, 2:30 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Youngsville, NC
Posts: 36
Default

Just wondering if I have a problem with my Smarty phone. I haven't heard anything from Franklin County for the last 3 days, seems like Wake County and others work ok. I keep thinking it's something I have set wrong on my Galaxy 3 phone - right now I see there are 9 listeners and it seems to be streaming. As usual, I need help!
Reply With Quote
  #316 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2014, 2:55 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 100
Default

I live in a neighboring county.. and I have Franklin County programmed in my 436. Why is the range so bad on their system?
__________________
EdwardnNC
Uniden BCD436HP
Radio Shack PRO-90, PRO-94, PRO-75
Reply With Quote
  #317 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2014, 5:48 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern, NC
Posts: 2,419
Default

As for most simulcast systems they care setup for an on county basis so power is just enough to cover the county and nothing else.
__________________
Scanners: BCT-15, Pro-106, Whistler 1040
Radios: Icom 3161, Connect Systems CS580
John 15:13 - Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.
Reply With Quote
  #318 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2014, 4:36 PM
murrayustud's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: raleigh,nc
Posts: 230
Default

It a lot of times fails to cover even their own county, lol
__________________
Charles Murray KI4DCR Amateur Call sign
Uniden 996P2 Pro 96, Pro 106, RS 652, Motorola XTS5000 (4)
Cdm1550, APX7000 Yaesu 857D
Uniden HP 2, Pro 197, CS750 DMR
Reply With Quote
  #319 (permalink)  
Old 02-11-2014, 8:20 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 100
Default

Ok. Thanks for the info.
I will have to try to see what I can pick up next time I drive through there.
__________________
EdwardnNC
Uniden BCD436HP
Radio Shack PRO-90, PRO-94, PRO-75
Reply With Quote
  #320 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2014, 6:48 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Youngsville, NC
Posts: 36
Default

NCFire11 (Josh) is having problems with the RR program that broadcasts the audio. For some reason the program is not stable and stops passing audio to the RR/broadcastify servers. Maybe someone can help Josh and send him a PM with any ideas. All I know is when it does work, it sure is great!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions