2012-2014 VIPER Discussion (Archive)

Status
Not open for further replies.

KE4ZNR

Radio Geek
Premium Subscriber
This thread is for discussion of VIPER related info only.
Any off topic posts will be deleted.
Please Help by keeping posts on topic.
Thanks and Happy Monitoring!

Last edited:

KE4YOG

Okay question. I am new to the VIPER system as far as programming it into a scanner. What information do I need to enter into a Uniden Home patrol. Bought my mother one for Christmas and trying to figure it out. Thanks

KE4ZNR

Radio Geek
Premium Subscriber
Okay question. I am new to the VIPER system as far as programming it into a scanner. What information do I need to enter into a Uniden Home patrol. Bought my mother one for Christmas and trying to figure it out. Thanks

Good news is that the VIPER system is already loaded into her HomePatrol. :)

The only question is where is she located? That will determine which VIPER Sites
she is in range of picking up. And remember: Outside of the Wake County Simulcast
VIPER operates in a Smartzone configuration. Which means that if she is located outside
of Wake County she may or may not receive certain VIPER talkgroups depending on who is affiliated to the site.
If you give me a city/town location I can setup a HomePatrol .hpe file that you can
import into the HomePatrol
for her to get her started :)

Marshall KE4ZNR

KE4YOG

We live in Goldsboro but I am interested in Greene county. She wants to be able to pick up Greene county SO. I have used viper. We had them when I was with probation but I left not long after we got them.

KE4ZNR

Radio Geek
Premium Subscriber
We live in Goldsboro but I am interested in Greene county. She wants to be able to pick up Greene county SO. I have used viper. We had them when I was with probation but I left not long after we got them.

Ok. If she is in reception distance of the Farmville Tower Site then she should be ok.