RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > North Carolina Radio Discussion Forum


North Carolina Radio Discussion Forum - Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of North Carolina.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2015, 11:16 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 9
Default Wayne Co Simulcast Help

I have been away for a while and now can't receive any transmissions on the Wayne Co Simulcast. I have downloaded the latest frequencies with no luck. Can anyone help? I am currently operating a Uniden 396XT.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2015, 3:40 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinston NC
Posts: 377
Default

Go back to the database and look at these frequencies. Program them in. They are using the "NEW" Simulcast 11 system.

Simulcast 11 151.19750c 151.87500c 151.90500c 152.03000c 152.35500c 152.51000c 152.66000c 152.75000c
155.67000c
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2015, 3:52 PM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 8,094
Default

To confirm KC's comment - I drove through the area last Saturday (Mt Olive and up 795 to 95). I had both sites programmed but only received activity on the Simulcast 11 site. County Fire and EMS, Goldsboro Police, Sheriff's office... It wasn't great reception on either of the radios I had going but it was there....
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR1080,PSR500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-05-2015, 4:31 PM
climberkid's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troymail View Post
To confirm KC's comment - I drove through the area last Saturday (Mt Olive and up 795 to 95). I had both sites programmed but only received activity on the Simulcast 11 site. County Fire and EMS, Goldsboro Police, Sheriff's office... It wasn't great reception on either of the radios I had going but it was there....
Can you confirm what radio you are using and if you have any of the P25 settings changed to other than default? I'm still in a severe struggle to lock into radio traffic with dozens of tweaks, to include all default values.
Any help is appreciated.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-05-2015, 4:37 PM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 8,094
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by climberkid View Post
Can you confirm what radio you are using and if you have any of the P25 settings changed to other than default? I'm still in a severe struggle to lock into radio traffic with dozens of tweaks, to include all default values.
Any help is appreciated.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
I had both a BCD436 and Whistler WS1095 with me. I have no special settings but I am using Radio Shack 800Mhz antennas on both.
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR1080,PSR500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2015, 8:00 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinston NC
Posts: 377
Default

I'm headed over there this morning for car service. I use a GRE PSR 500. Just have ALL the frequencies of the new system programmed in with standard settings. "Multi site" set to "ROAM". Threshold set "HI =95 \ LO=85.
Just noticed "Trunking tables" are set to "Custom". Did not do that intentionally. Will check on performance of the system but last time I was there everything seemed fine. Will report back.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2015, 3:02 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 9
Default

Is it possible that my radio is not picking up the nearest site? With the old frequencies I have decent signal strength, but with the new frequencies I have no signal strength. Is it because my radio not is not picking up the closest site? Thanks for any help.

Sent from my SM-T230NU using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2015, 3:03 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdmcclish View Post
Is it possible that my radio is not picking up the nearest site? With the old frequencies I have decent signal strength, but with the new frequencies I have no signal strength. Is it because my radio not is not picking up the closest site? Thanks for any help.

Sent from my SM-T230NU using Tapatalk
By the way, I'm near the county line on Wayne Memorial Drive.

Sent from my SM-T230NU using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-07-2015, 7:28 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinston NC
Posts: 377
Default

To mdmcclish:

I'm not familiar with the Uniden scanners but did you program in ALL of the frequencies in the newer system? I did go over there yesterday and am still hearing the system although the audio still does not match that of VIPER for the most part it is understandable.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-07-2015, 9:48 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 9
Default

I used FreeScan to download the frequencies from Radio RadioReference and have them loaded into my scanner. I'm going to tweak the settings and report back.

Sent from my SM-T230NU using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-07-2015, 10:06 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinston NC
Posts: 377
Default

The scanner maybe getting confused. Go back and make sure that ONLY the frequencies I mentioned in post no. 2 above are in the scanner for Wayne County. DELETE all other frequencies if any.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2015, 3:34 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 9
Default

OK, I've tried everything. I tried loading just the frequencies for simulcast 11 and still can't pick up a control channel. When I use Freescan to upload the frequencies, I get an error that says no APCO band plan available for simulcast 11. Any other help?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2015, 9:26 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinston NC
Posts: 377
Default

Not sure what to tell you at this point. I was over there today and was hearing everything loud and reasonably clear on my pro 197 and new Whistler 1095. I don't have anything Uniden. Do you have the system set to P 25? That's the only thing I can think of to check. Maybe someone else here with Uniden scanners can help.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2016, 3:54 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 9
Default

So it's been a while and I've loaded the correct frequencies because I'm picking up traffic when I get closer to town but way out where I am, I'm getting simulcast distortion. Do I need a directional antenna to point to the strongest simulcast site?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2016, 4:08 PM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 8,094
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdmcclish View Post
So it's been a while and I've loaded the correct frequencies because I'm picking up traffic when I get closer to town but way out where I am, I'm getting simulcast distortion. Do I need a directional antenna to point to the strongest simulcast site?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Most times just the opposite.... try the ATTenuation button/option and/or moving the radio around a bit (inches at a time).

Mobile listening might be difficult.
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR1080,PSR500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2016, 5:52 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 9
Default

So I tried all of the above with no luck. I even tried collapsing the antenna to reduce the gain. It's not even picking up the control channel.

I have a 396xt and mobile listening is actually better


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 12-22-2017, 6:29 AM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 8,094
Default

Does anyone in the Wayne County area know the status of the Wayne County system? It still seems to me that the site and frequency information list on the RRDB for this system is a bit suspect for various reasons (the most obvious is the fact that some site frequencies are listed on both of the sites).

The closest license I can find is
ULS License - Public Safety Pool, Trunked License - WQHJ229 - WAYNE, COUNTY OF

which says there should be 11 frequencies (some match, some don't).

I'll be driving through the area later today and I'll probably stop for a brief period and look at it more closely.
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR1080,PSR500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2017, 8:19 AM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 8,094
Default

I did about 90 minutes of monitoring of this system on Friday, December 22nd....

I have submitted/recommended flushing the current sites/frequency listings and replacing with the following that was observed using Pro96Com and 3 other radios simultaneously.


Site 1-1
--------
152.09000 control channel
152.72000 alternate control channel


Site 11-11 (NOTE - this is a change/correction to the currently posted Site 1-11)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
151.1975 alternate control channel
152.0300
152.5100 alternate control channel
152.6600
152.7500 alternate control channel
155.6700 control channel


TGID 1512 - Wayne SO (encrypted)

================================================== =================

Observations...

I was stationary at the Speedway near W Vann St for about a hour. I first monitored Simulcast 1 with Pro96Com. Pro96Com indicated only a primary and alternate control channel frequency with no other activity while the radios were talking away. So, I switched to monitoring Simulcast 11 on Pro96com for the next hour or so.

Simulcast 11 appears to be fairly busy carrying Law Enforcement, Fire/EMS, and some public works.

Simulcast 1 did not appear to be carrying any activity during my monitoring (but it was late in the day on the Friday before Christmas).

Prior to continuing on my trip north, I monitored Simulcast 1 with Pro96Com until just prior to I-95 on 795 and had a fairly solid signal the entire time - but still no activity or other frequencies noted.

Neither site as reporting having any neighbor sites suggesting that users remain on the one assigned site (or possibly certain talkgroups are on one site or the other - pure speculation).

No callsigns were detected being broadcast during my monitoring. Searches of the above frequencies only find 151.1975 and 155.6700 on Simulcast 11 licensed to Wayne County under WQHJ229. There are other frequencies on that license but they do not match what is being used.

"ALL CALL" talkgroups seen on Simulcast 11 appear to be dynamic patches. I watched TGID 65172 appear when the dispatcher was canceling units on a Fire/EMS call. Pro96Com indicated short-term patches being set up and taken down for these transmissions with (at least) TG 1001 (Fire Dispatch) and 101 (Ops 1) as part of the patch.

I will be traveling through Wayne again next Wednesday and will do additional monitoring.

IMPORTANT: If your scanner/radio searches for a site and then locks and holds on Simulcast 1, you may not hear any activity at all (at least, not a majority of the public safety activity). NOTE: Whistler scanners and Unication pagers tend to find a site with a good control channel and stay on that channel. Both sites of the system should probably be scanned - as if two different systems.
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR1080,PSR500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390

Last edited by troymail; 12-23-2017 at 8:46 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2017, 11:39 AM
troymail's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply, NC
Posts: 8,094
Default

I'm back home now from my latest trip... looking at my captured recordings, I do now see a few voice calls on Site 1-1 - but very few. I'm suspecting these were possibly part of temporary patches which might explain why you only sometimes hear activity on Site 1-1... Or, it could be that Site 1-1 provides specific coverage in some limited part of the county - and that would have to be "north" I'd say given I had such strong reception at I-95 and 264/795.

I've submitted the additional Site 1-1 voice frequencies to the database.

152.54
152.72
152.06
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR1080,PSR500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2017, 4:53 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks for following up on this. I have since moved and no longer actively listening to Wayne County. Thanks for your help


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions