RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > North Carolina Radio Discussion Forum


North Carolina Radio Discussion Forum - Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of North Carolina.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 03-19-2018, 4:16 PM
Nortonterrier's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 23
Default

ULS License - Trunked Public Safety 700 MHz License - WQYA799 - NORTH CAROLINA STATE HIGHWAY PATROL
Trunked Public Safety 700 MHz License - WQYA799 - NORTH CAROLINA STATE HIGHWAY PATROL

560 SIGMON RD
LINCOLNTON, NC LINCOLN County *
[IMG]c:\pic\lincolnton viper site.jpg[/IMG]

000769.53125000 *
000770.03125000 *
000771.10625000 *
000771.38125000 *
000772.35625000 *
000772.60625000 *
000773.21875000 *
000774.18125000 *
000774.45625000 *
000774.89375000 *
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 03-19-2018, 8:27 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: TRYON NC
Posts: 127
Default Tg#31020

Picking up TG# 31020 it falls in Mitchell Co range and it definitely is a Tac channel. Fire fighting Ops was what was picking up.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 04-01-2018, 8:23 PM
basstuba's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 316
Default Robeson viper

picked up 39550 unknown law talk group .on st.pauls viper site. Anyone out there have an idea who this could be?
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2018, 7:55 AM
BCasto's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Morrisville NC
Posts: 293
Default Encryption in the future for Viper?

With all the recent discussion about encryption, I am wondering if Viper will make that move in the future? Realistically, living in Wake County there are only 2 primary systems to monitor: Viper and Wake Simulcast. From some of you involved in those systems, can you say if there are plans to encrypt and if so will it be all radio traffic?

One reason I ask is I am considering updating my equipment to the latest models, i.e. 536HP. If encryption is in the near future it makes no sense to do that. Of course if I had a clue what Uniden Products are on the horizon, that might influence the decision too.

Since I mentioned Uniden, I wonder what their position and forecast is for encryption. I suppose Whistler is looking at this too. Encryption has to be a consideration at Uniden as they allocate their R&D monies. If encryption can potentially dramatically shrink the scanner market just how much more energy will they invest. I suppose the same question could be asked about the scanner software providers. Or for that matter, what will it do to used scanner prices?

What say you?
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2018, 10:07 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: nc
Posts: 84
Default

Maybe Im way off, but knowing what I do on encryption in general, it will take far to much compute power to put on a scanner to decrypt. Its probably a losing battle for scanners.

I dont see fire encrypting at all. Too many interop problems as is, encryption is just one more issue that fire depts dont need on the scene of a major fire. A lot of little depts dont want to pay for it. At a county level maybe, but then again, when you get a big system going (Viper) not everyone again wants to pay for it or use it.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2018, 10:16 AM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 117
Default

VIPER is a collective of agencies. Each agency can decide to encrypt their own talkgroup(s), but I don't think the folks that run the network will decide for them and encrypt everything in one fell swoop. It seems like they discourage encryption if anything.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2018, 10:17 AM
troymail's Avatar
Silent Key
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
Posts: 9,977
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCasto View Post
With all the recent discussion about encryption, I am wondering if Viper will make that move in the future? Realistically, living in Wake County there are only 2 primary systems to monitor: Viper and Wake Simulcast. From some of you involved in those systems, can you say if there are plans to encrypt and if so will it be all radio traffic?

One reason I ask is I am considering updating my equipment to the latest models, i.e. 536HP. If encryption is in the near future it makes no sense to do that. Of course if I had a clue what Uniden Products are on the horizon, that might influence the decision too.

Since I mentioned Uniden, I wonder what their position and forecast is for encryption. I suppose Whistler is looking at this too. Encryption has to be a consideration at Uniden as they allocate their R&D monies. If encryption can potentially dramatically shrink the scanner market just how much more energy will they invest. I suppose the same question could be asked about the scanner software providers. Or for that matter, what will it do to used scanner prices?

What say you?
I'm sure there will be lots to listen to with scanners for some time to come... just maybe not everything you'd like to hear.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zapman987 View Post
Maybe Im way off, but knowing what I do on encryption in general, it will take far to much compute power to put on a scanner to decrypt. Its probably a losing battle for scanners.
Scanners are NEVER going to be able to decrypt - think of decryption as "they no longer use a radio"... it is gone - unless they opt to revert back to non-encryption (it has happened for some users in some areas).
Quote:
I dont see fire encrypting at all. Too many interop problems as is, encryption is just one more issue that fire depts dont need on the scene of a major fire. A lot of little depts dont want to pay for it. At a county level maybe, but then again, when you get a big system going (Viper) not everyone again wants to pay for it or use it.
Fire/EMS has encrypted in some places ... not necessarily in NC or on VIPER - yet - as far as I know.
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR1080,PSR500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2018, 10:23 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: nc
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troymail View Post

Scanners are NEVER going to be able to decrypt - think of decryption as "they no longer use a radio"... it is gone - unless they opt to revert back to non-encryption (it has happened for some users in some areas).

Fire/EMS has encrypted in some places ... not necessarily in NC or on VIPER - yet - as far as I know.
And from what Ive heard, they were cities with little mutual aid need, not JimBob and Joe's volunteer fire dept with no money, who calls every cousin and brother in the county (and a few counties over) if there is a fire.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2018, 3:40 AM
BCasto's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Morrisville NC
Posts: 293
Default DMR encryption?

Just was wondering if DMR systems are easily encrypted?

Yes, I have read where a small number of agencies have turned off encryption. It was basically done because the policy makers were on a transparency mission.
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2018, 6:42 AM
troymail's Avatar
Silent Key
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
Posts: 9,977
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCasto View Post
Just was wondering if DMR systems are easily encrypted?
Encryption is encryption - doesn't matter if it is DMR or P25. Same process.

Different types of encryption may be "easier" on a processor but those encryption types could be applied to any number of underlying protocols.

Quote:
Yes, I have read where a small number of agencies have turned off encryption. It was basically done because the policy makers were on a transparency mission.
Probably true. However, in some cases, I believe it was done due to unforeseen or expected Interop issues - sometimes after bad consequences.
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR1080,PSR500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2018, 11:26 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 263
Default

During the Forrest fires yesterday and the Fire Talk Groups I monitored for Cumberland Co it appears they are listed wrong I will try to figure this out'
These are the ones I corrected so far
TG# 13522 is Tac # 1A
TG# 13523 is Tac # 8A
All info has been sumitted

Last edited by GMB951; 04-07-2018 at 11:33 AM.. Reason: add
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old 04-14-2018, 8:53 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 263
Default

Appears to have been a shooting in Harnett Co<Cumb,Harnett and SHP units in a big search
Talk Group being used at present #52145 Trp B Harnett
#51955 S/W Events 1
#22036 Harnett Events 1
#52225 Trp B Mutual Aid

Last edited by GMB951; 04-14-2018 at 8:59 PM.. Reason: add
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old 04-15-2018, 11:10 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 263
Default

Checking different systems for interop and to me the Viper system we have has little or no interop with either South Carolina or VA or it is not been put out yet. The TACN System Tenn. advanced comm system has it right they have the western side of GA covered so they have day to day and unit to unit coverage in both states
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old 04-15-2018, 11:18 AM
BCasto's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Morrisville NC
Posts: 293
Default Viper Peer Sites

With a better antenna I am now clearly getting the site at Durham Cole Mill Road. I am a little surprised to be getting Orange Co. TGs on that Durham site. When I look at the details for the Cole Mill Road site I see the following sites listed as "peers sites":

015 - Durham Cole Mill Road --

007 - Durham Duke University
009 - Durham, Camden Avenue
012 - Orange Chapel Hill
013 - Chatham Chatham Mountain
019 - Orange Eno Mountain
026 - Orange Laws
072 - Person Mt. Tirzah

I don't quite understand the role of a peer site. Does it mean if I am listening to Durham Cole Mill Road site (015), I can hear the radio traffic from its peers. Is that the reason I am hearing Orange County TGs on the Durham Cole Mill Road site? How dynamic is the peer assignment? Does it ever change? Please help me understand better the peer site configuration.
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old 04-15-2018, 11:19 AM
troymail's Avatar
Silent Key
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
Posts: 9,977
Default

I'm pretty sure VIPER has some SC Interop talkgroups -- at least these are documented...
Attached Images
 
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR1080,PSR500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old 04-15-2018, 11:26 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 263
Default

Yep have them in my scanners used to hear radio checks on them but when SC started the build out
of their system have not monitored any thing. But will let every body know if I monitor anything also have a friend on the SCHP that I can check with
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old 04-15-2018, 11:30 AM
troymail's Avatar
Silent Key
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
Posts: 9,977
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GMB951 View Post
Yep have them in my scanners used to hear radio checks on them but when SC started the build out
of their system have not monitored any thing. But will let every body know if I monitor anything also have a friend on the SCHP that I can check with
I think in the recent past I'd hear a radio check/roll call around 3am daily... then again, that may have been before Palmetto went P25.
__________________
Unication G5(UHF)
TRX-2,TRX-1,WS1098,1088x2,1095,1080, PSR1080,PSR500,PRO96
BCD536,436,396T,BC296D,245XLT,600XLT,IV,VX-8R,MD-390
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old 04-15-2018, 12:25 PM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 6,954
Default

Brian,
Remember that While Orange County is a Primary user of VIPER, Durham County is a secondary user. The Cole Mill Rd site is considered an "overflow" site for the heavy VIPER usage in Orange County. Sure Cole Mill Rd also carries SHP radio traffic along with medical transport services but one of it's most important tasks is to act as that Orange County overflow site.

Marshall KE4ZNR


Quote:
Originally Posted by BCasto View Post
With a better antenna I am now clearly getting the site at Durham Cole Mill Road. I am a little surprised to be getting Orange Co. TGs on that Durham site. When I look at the details for the Cole Mill Road site I see the following sites listed as "peers sites":

015 - Durham Cole Mill Road --

007 - Durham Duke University
009 - Durham, Camden Avenue
012 - Orange Chapel Hill
013 - Chatham Chatham Mountain
019 - Orange Eno Mountain
026 - Orange Laws
072 - Person Mt. Tirzah

I don't quite understand the role of a peer site. Does it mean if I am listening to Durham Cole Mill Road site (015), I can hear the radio traffic from its peers. Is that the reason I am hearing Orange County TGs on the Durham Cole Mill Road site? How dynamic is the peer assignment? Does it ever change? Please help me understand better the peer site configuration.
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
All opinions are exclusively those of the author
and in no way reflect the position of his employer,
contractors or other parties.
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old 04-15-2018, 5:31 PM
BCasto's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Morrisville NC
Posts: 293
Default

Marshall, thank you for your always spot-on response. Would you consider Wake County a secondary user of VIPER also?

Since I have multiple scanners, I can monitor at least 2 Wake Co. VIPER sites. Sometimes the traffic on both is the same and some time not.

While we are at it, why does RDU use both its own trunked system for some functions and Wake Simulcast for others? Their own trunked system is not very active.

Another one, I get 3-4 bars of signal strength for Durham City, but I don't hear much radio traffic. Do they use MDTs or some other communications tool that keeps radio traffic very light?

Thank you ..
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old 04-15-2018, 6:00 PM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 6,954
Default

Threaded

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCasto View Post
Marshall, thank you for your always spot-on response. Would you consider Wake County a secondary user of VIPER also?
I am sure Wake would indeed consider themselves a secondary VIPER user. Like Durham, They have their own radio system for Primary day to day comms and only use VIPER for Interop and Mutual Aid situations.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCasto View Post
Since I have multiple scanners, I can monitor at least 2 Wake Co. VIPER sites. Sometimes the traffic on both is the same and some time not.
That would indeed be the system resource management of the Smartzone side of VIPER. No need to carry talkgroup audio of there are no radios affiliated to the site that would use said talkgroup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCasto View Post
While we are at it, why does RDU use both its own trunked system for some functions and Wake Simulcast for others? Their own trunked system is not very active.
A variety of reasons why KRDU uses the mixture of the Wake System and their own system....a few right off the top of my head:
--The KRDU/Wake configuration makes sense from a public safety perspective. In the terribly unfortunate situation of a downed aircraft most mutual aid would first come from Wake County. Hence provide said mutual aid response with a robust system that can accommodate the flood of radio traffic that would need to take place.
--Remember that the KRDU radio system has only 6 frequencies and a limited coverage pattern. Again in a mass casualty situation you need to a have a radio system that has more capacity and a large reception footprint as some of the mutual aid agencies could be coming from various parts of Wake & Durham Counties.
--Using the Wake System for Public Safety frees up the 6 channel KRDU system to be used by other airport groups such as buses, security, maintenance, etc. It also gives the airport more capacity within their coverage pattern for future use.
--Just because we realize that KRDU uses both the Wake Radio System and the Airport system does not mean the end user does. With the radios in use today switching between radio systems can be transparent to the end user with them being non the wiser.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCasto View Post
Another one, I get 3-4 bars of signal strength for Durham City, but I don't hear much radio traffic. Do they use MDTs or some other communications tool that keeps radio traffic very light?
While Durham PD does have MDT access in their vehicles I can tell you that their is no lack of radio traffic on the Durham system. I know because I monitor and talk on the radio system 8+ hours a day at work and also monitor system activity from home 24/7 being that I am on call for the city. You are probably experiencing the dreaded simulcast distortion and need to have a directional beam pointed in the direction of the closest of the 4 towers that make up the Durham System. Simulcast reception from outside the intended coverage pattern is always a roll of the dice as the system was probably not designed to be received from where you are located. The Durham system has great reach into the NW Raleigh area and into Brier Creek but any further east is a crapshoot at best.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCasto View Post
Thank you ..
No worries.
Happy Monitoring!
Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
All opinions are exclusively those of the author
and in no way reflect the position of his employer,
contractors or other parties.

Last edited by KE4ZNR; 04-15-2018 at 6:01 PM.. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
durham trunk frequencies, nchsp, sticky

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions