VIPER in Person County Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

aslinc

Newbie here on site so excuse me if I am not posting correctly or not in the right place. I live in Person County NC and it seems about everything here is going to this Viper system radio that everyone on this thread is talking about so I am trying to learn as much as I can about what to buy and what all I will need in order to continue to monitor local traffic from PD, Sheriff, EMS & Fire at both my business and home locations. I know they are doing final testing on the new system (whatever that is) to switch over. I have read through this thread and see the names of a few units but would like to confirm models & procedures it will take to get me where I need to be. Thanks in advance for any help.

KE4ZNR

Radio Geek
Premium Subscriber
Welcome to RR! I have moved your post to it's own thread where you will get more support.

Marshall KE4ZNR

troymail

Silent Key
Last edited:

simmsrep

Premium Subscriber
Saw this notice earlier today - great price for a great radio that will work with VIPER:

https://forums.radioreference.com/w...065-222-thursday-02-22-2018-one-day-only.html

EDIT/add: I do see a non-VIPER DMR conventional frequency for Roxboro PD (155.535) that the above radio cannot receive/decode.

Roxboro PD went to DMR before the switch to VIPER but they are broadcasting on viper and DMR. The sheriff and Roxboro use Channel 2 155.250 DMR which is encrypted for secure communications so we cant hear them on that anyways. But everything else is on viper and in the clear so this scanner will take care of your needs. I live across the state line and work there in Roxboro so if I can be of assistance feel free to pm me anytime.

BCasto

Premium Subscriber