RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Ohio Radio Discussion Forum


Ohio Radio Discussion Forum - Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Ohio.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2013, 9:14 PM
mtindor's Avatar
OH/WV DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
Posts: 6,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swipesy View Post
I think your numbers are fine. I am monitoring with Universal Tracker and it is reporting what you posted. There just is no voice on the tower for some reason.
Is your scanner up to date with regard to firmware [to support the rebanding], and did you set the necessary trunking tables in your scanner for that particular site? Once a site is rebanded, you'll need to program in the trunking tables that are used for rebanded sites on that particular site in your scanner.

Mike
__________________
Mike / AA8IA
PSR800/PRO197/BCD436HP/BCD536HP

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #62 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2013, 9:25 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Painesville, Ohio
Posts: 515
Default

FWIW, the total usage of that site totalled less than 50 hits from 3 to 5pm. It seems like most of the traffic was Cuy Hills JCF(??) AND OSHP. I'm guessing that it covers a minimal section of terrain that Chardon and Beachwood sites can't.

After I wiped the old site out of the main unitrunker window, I ran unitrunker in the reband mode using an RTL SDR and input the correct freq where I should have. Once I clicked the wizard and verified that the tables matched the fcc database, I felt comfortable posting and submitting that info.
__________________
KC8ESL - Lake County Ohio
TM-V71A, IC-2410H, TS-130S, IC-706MkIIG, MCS2000, HT1250 VHF, HT1250 UHF, MT2000, Too many other radios that I probably should sell soon...

Last edited by KC8ESL; 08-26-2013 at 9:27 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2013, 9:30 PM
mtindor's Avatar
OH/WV DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
Posts: 6,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KC8ESL View Post
FWIW, the total usage of that site totalled less than 50 hits from 3 to 5pm. It seems like most of the traffic was Cuy Hills JCF(??) AND OSHP. I'm guessing that it covers a minimal section of terrain that Chardon and Beachwood sites can't.

After I wiped the old site out of the main unitrunker window, I ran unitrunker in the reband mode using an RTL SDR and input the correct freq where I should have. Once I clicked the wizard and verified that the tables matched the fcc database, I felt comfortable posting and submitting that info.
I was referring to your site 54 Wickliffe posting. That AC definitely isn't a correct AC. That's one you'd typically see if the trunking program still thought it was monitoring a pre-rebanded site [i.e. not using rebanded trunking tables]. That's why I asked.

Mike
__________________
Mike / AA8IA
PSR800/PRO197/BCD436HP/BCD536HP

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2013, 9:35 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 1,330
Default

Yes Mike both my PSR 500 and PSR 800 are uptodate and the updated tables input. I will go tomorrow closer to the site and play with the settings.
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2013, 9:37 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Painesville, Ohio
Posts: 515
Default

I was scratching my head also.

As I said, I will double check my work tomorrow when I am also closer to the site.
__________________
KC8ESL - Lake County Ohio
TM-V71A, IC-2410H, TS-130S, IC-706MkIIG, MCS2000, HT1250 VHF, HT1250 UHF, MT2000, Too many other radios that I probably should sell soon...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #66 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2013, 9:43 PM
mtindor's Avatar
OH/WV DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
Posts: 6,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KC8ESL View Post
I was scratching my head also.

As I said, I will double check my work tomorrow when I am also closer to the site.
Ok, thanks. What you see is exactly the type of garbage I saw when I did one of the following:

a. fired up UT on the CC of a rebanded site with existing data already in UT for that site
b. fired up UT on the CC of a rebanded site after having deleted pre-existing site but before designating the new site as Rebanded using the Wizard [with only the CC in there at the time].

It wasn't until I removed the site, recreated the site with the reciever off and only the known active 850 mhz control channel in. Then I clicked on the Wizard, selected Rebanded, and then fired up the reciever. At that point it worked fine for that particular site.

Mike
__________________
Mike / AA8IA
PSR800/PRO197/BCD436HP/BCD536HP

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2013, 9:47 PM
mtindor's Avatar
OH/WV DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
Posts: 6,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swipesy View Post
Yes Mike both my PSR 500 and PSR 800 are uptodate and the updated tables input. I will go tomorrow closer to the site and play with the settings.
Ok, cool. Now I'm speaking from experience [having beat myself upside the head multiple times for failing to do this] --- I'd go into Win500 and click on the Trunking Tables button and select the "800 Mhz (Rebanded)" option and then re-upload to the scanner. What I failed to do many times was to actually select "Custom" next to where it says "Trunking Tables".

So basically, I would set select the custom 800 Mhz Rebanded trunking tables, but in the scanner it was still set to use the default trunking tables instead of the custom one.

So ya might want to check that you changed two separate locations.

-- mike
__________________
Mike / AA8IA
PSR800/PRO197/BCD436HP/BCD536HP

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2013, 10:27 PM
mdulrich's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 1,614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtindor View Post
The Paulding site may be rebanded
Off the Continental site, Paulding is rebanded with a CC of 853.5000 and the Edgerton site is rebanded with a CC of 853.7125.

Mike
__________________
Streaming the Allen County, Ohio Public Safety Scanner at http://www.broadcastify.com/listen/feed/188

Providing ADS-B data from NW Ohio for http://www.flightradar24.com
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2013, 10:54 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 1,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtindor View Post
Ok, cool. Now I'm speaking from experience [having beat myself upside the head multiple times for failing to do this] --- I'd go into Win500 and click on the Trunking Tables button and select the "800 Mhz (Rebanded)" option and then re-upload to the scanner. What I failed to do many times was to actually select "Custom" next to where it says "Trunking Tables".

So basically, I would set select the custom 800 Mhz Rebanded trunking tables, but in the scanner it was still set to use the default trunking tables instead of the custom one.

So ya might want to check that you changed two separate locations.

-- mike
Well Mike, you be da man! I indeed forgot to change to Custom Tables - duh. Just made the change now and will see what happens.

John
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2013, 10:58 PM
mtindor's Avatar
OH/WV DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
Posts: 6,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swipesy View Post
Well Mike, you be da man! I indeed forgot to change to Custom Tables - duh. Just made the change now and will see what happens.

John
Glad I could help, John. Trust me, that has happened to me more than a dozen times. Really drives me crazy that I can't remember to do that after having done it quite a few times.

Mike
__________________
Mike / AA8IA
PSR800/PRO197/BCD436HP/BCD536HP

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #71 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2013, 10:59 PM
mtindor's Avatar
OH/WV DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
Posts: 6,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdulrich View Post
Off the Continental site, Paulding is rebanded with a CC of 853.5000 and the Edgerton site is rebanded with a CC of 853.7125.

Mike
Thank you, Mike. I had heard the techs talking to helpdesk indicating they were at Paulding earlier today, but I never managed to catch the usual final test of rebanded voice channels and declaration that it was rebanded.

I'll make the changes now.

Mike
__________________
Mike / AA8IA
PSR800/PRO197/BCD436HP/BCD536HP

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2013, 10:28 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 1,330
Default

The Chesterland tower reception is back on my GRE 500 thanks to Mike reminding me to make sure I changed all the settings in the PSREdit - WIN500 software. I had forgot to check the Custom Table box when rebanding the frequencies. Fortunately the GRE 800 does that automatically so us old guys don't have to remember so much, lol.

John
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2013, 11:09 AM
scanman75's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ohio
Posts: 25
Default Muskingum County

they have done re-banding in the county, anyone have the new freqs?
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2013, 11:49 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: KZZV - SE Ohio
Posts: 2,305
Default

I was still getting the Zanesville site on the old freq. at 9:00 am. I am going to load all the new ones from the FCC lists later today.

Do you mean the Zanesville, Dresden or Bloomfield site?
__________________
BCD536,Hp2(e),HP-1(e)x2, BC780, BCD996t ,BCD996P2, BCD325P2, Pro 2005, 2006(x2), Pro34,VR500,AT803,R5000and other RF capture devices

Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2013, 12:07 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,343
Default

In regards to rebanding the MARCS Chesterland site, I have programmed in the frequencies from the RRDB into my BCD996XT. Can't hear the (any) CC. Yet if I "GO TO" 852.35 MHz in FreeSCAN it's there and strong. Enable reqular scan and nothing. Hold on the site frequencies and nothing. Scroll off the site frequencies and "Finding Control Channel". Not finding. What the heck is wrong here??? I used to get this OK but something has changed in the past six months I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #76 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2013, 12:09 PM
scanman75's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ohio
Posts: 25
Default

the Dresden site doesn't seem to be working.
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2013, 12:14 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: KZZV - SE Ohio
Posts: 2,305
Default

OK - have not tried Dresden - using HP-1 Site analyzer looks like you are right.

As soon as I can I'll load the new freqs. and try.

All I can find is this WQHM719 (OHIO, STATE OF) FCC Callsign Details

It does not have the new ones, I'll try them -15.00

Anyone else find it better than me?
__________________
BCD536,Hp2(e),HP-1(e)x2, BC780, BCD996t ,BCD996P2, BCD325P2, Pro 2005, 2006(x2), Pro34,VR500,AT803,R5000and other RF capture devices

Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2013, 12:28 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: KZZV - SE Ohio
Posts: 2,305
Default

Looks like Dresden has re-banded, I see it on my HP-1 activity monitor. I have seen Muskingum SO associate with it (5144) but have not monitored anything.



851.750000852.225000852.862500853.387500 as control
__________________
BCD536,Hp2(e),HP-1(e)x2, BC780, BCD996t ,BCD996P2, BCD325P2, Pro 2005, 2006(x2), Pro34,VR500,AT803,R5000and other RF capture devices

Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2013, 12:33 PM
mtindor's Avatar
OH/WV DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
Posts: 6,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phask View Post
Looks like Dresden has re-banded, I see it on my HP-1 activity monitor. I have seen Muskingum SO associate with it (5144) but have not monitored anything.



851.750000852.225000852.862500853.387500 as control
Thank you for that info. The database has been udpated. (although you wont get an HP-1 update until their normal schedule provides an update).

Mike
__________________
Mike / AA8IA
PSR800/PRO197/BCD436HP/BCD536HP

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #80 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2013, 12:34 PM
mtindor's Avatar
OH/WV DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
Posts: 6,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_Azalea View Post
In regards to rebanding the MARCS Chesterland site, I have programmed in the frequencies from the RRDB into my BCD996XT. Can't hear the (any) CC. Yet if I "GO TO" 852.35 MHz in FreeSCAN it's there and strong. Enable reqular scan and nothing. Hold on the site frequencies and nothing. Scroll off the site frequencies and "Finding Control Channel". Not finding. What the heck is wrong here??? I used to get this OK but something has changed in the past six months I guess.
Ed,

You are going to have to make sure that (a) your BCD996XT has proper firmware to support rebanding. Given that it is a newer scanner, it probably alread does. And (b) you'll need to make sure and follow the procedure recommended by Uniden for setting that particular trunked site up with the post-rebanding trunking tables.

If you don't do that, you'll have problems.

Mike
__________________
Mike / AA8IA
PSR800/PRO197/BCD436HP/BCD536HP

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions